Showcase 2024 award winners announced

Washington State University logo.

Faculty and staff from across the Washington State University system are being recognized for their dedication to excellence in teaching, research, and service as winners of this year’s Showcase awards.

Each year, the university acknowledges outstanding representatives of the WSU community with Showcase awards ahead of events that bring together the academic community from across the system. Showcase events this year will run from March 25–29, with a complete list available online.

This year’s Distinguished Faculty Address will be given by Hans P.A. Van Dongen, a professor with the Department of Translational Medicine and Physiology on the WSU Spokane campus. His topic, sleep and its impact on performance, safety and health in our 24/7 society — will focus on the groundbreaking research undertaken by WSU’s Sleep and Performance Research Lab, which Van Dongen leads.

The Distinguished Faculty Address will be given at 3 p.m. March 27 inside room 432 of the Spokane Health Education and Research Building. The event will also be livestreamed, with a link soon to be available on the Showcase website.

The complete list of award recipients was shared Feb. 28 in a system-wide email and is available below:

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

  • Laura Hill
    Senior Vice Provost and Professor
    Department of Human Development

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Awards

  • Leadership – Michael S. Trevisan
    College of Education
  • Instruction – Chris Dickey
    Assistant Professor
    School of Music
  • Engagement – Kevin Murphy
    Department of Soil Science
  • Research, Scholarship & Arts – Jon Oatley
    School of Molecular Biosciences

Lane Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service

  • Richard Knowles
    Professor Emeritus
    Department of Horticulture

Emerit Society Legacy of Excellence Award

  • John Pierce
    Professor Emeritus
    School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affair

Presenter of the Distinguished Faculty Address

  • Hans P.A. Van Dongen
    Department of Translational Medicine and Physiology

President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Career-Track Faculty

  • Caitlin G. Bletscher
    Scholarly Associate Professor
    Department of Human Development

Faculty Diversity Award

  • Alexis Tan
    Department of Journalism and Media Production

Faculty Mid-Career Award

  • Jana Doppa
    Associate Professor
    School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award

  • Brandon Hopkins
    Research Assistant Professor
    Department of Entomology

President’s Employee Excellence Awards

  • Angel Hawkins
    English Department
  • Claudia Mickas
    Academic Administrative Assistant
    History Department
  • Eric W. Scott
    Director of Student Development
    Student Affairs and Enrollment
  • Shaun Sorensen
    Stage Manager
    School of Music
  • Elise Zeigler
    Program Support Supervisor
    College Assistance Migrant Program

Next Story

Rising costs, AI worry American travelers

The Carson College of Business released a new report with insights into Americans’ upcoming travel plans, including motivations, budgeting habits, and other considerations.

Recent News

WSU Insider will be back Tuesday

The staff at WSU Insider hopes you make the most of your Memorial Day holiday. Fresh posting will resume Tuesday.

A fallen Cougar, at last home

Former Washington State College student and U.S. Army Captain Donald Froemke was finally laid to rest in August 2022 in Yakima.