Holiday Book Fair features unique Northwest stories

A stack of books published by WSU Press.
Founded in 1928 and revitalized in the 1980s, WSU Press concentrates on telling unique, focused stories about the Northwest.

Washington State University Press will host its 31st annual Holiday Book Fair from 11 a.m.–3 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 7, in the Terrell Library Atrium on the Pullman campus.

The fair highlights books published throughout the year and is open to everyone. “Surviving the Sand” author Helen Heavirland and “Inventing Idaho” author and Pullman resident Keith C. Petersen will be signing books at noon. Festivities also include steep discounts of 30–50% on all titles, drawings for free books, and complimentary refreshments. Sale prices will be valid for phone and online orders using coupon code HBF2022 throughout the week, Dec. 5–11.

Some of the featured titles include a thrilling sea story perfect for fans of “The Deadliest Catch,” one family’s hardscrabble yet heartwarming story of Columbia Basin Project farming in the mid-1950s, a biography of the man who built a luxury hotel on Steptoe Butte, and former WSU interim president Daniel J. Bernardo’s guide for navigating transitional leadership positions.

In addition, visitors can check out an engaging photojournalistic account of western Oregon’s contemporary branchline and shortline railroads, a gorgeous volume of Walla Walla artist Keiko Hara’s paintings and Japanese woodblock prints, stories behind Idaho’s strange borders, and an exploration of a little-known art movement, Montana modernism.

Rounding out the titles are a lively account of the 1859 Pig War crisis, an agricultural economist’s analytical review of 50 years of producing Washington State’s key orchard crops, and finally, seven writers’ thoughtful reflections on 2020.

Founded in 1928 and revitalized in the 1980s, WSU Press concentrates on telling unique, focused stories about the Northwest. For more information about the book fair, visit wsupress.wsu.edu.

Next Story

Recent News

Center for Entrepreneurship hires new executive director

Paul Warner, an experienced business owner, digital marketer, and consultant, has been appointed executive director of the WSU Center for Entrepreneurship in the Carson College of Business.

Jeffrey Vervoort elected 2024 Geochemistry Fellow

The WSU geology professor received the honor in recognition of his research from the Geochemical Society and European Association of Geochemistry.