WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Showcase faculty, staff award winners announced

Participants at 2019 Academic Showcase
Faculty and students present their discoveries and creative work at WSU Showcase, held in the Compton Union Building ballroom (Photo by WSU Photo Services).

And the winners are….

The Office of the Provost has announced names of faculty and staff members who will be honored for their scholarly achievements and professional acumen at the 2020 Celebration of Excellence Banquet. It has also identified the scholar to deliver this year’s Distinguished Faculty Address: Patricia Hunt of the School of Molecular Biosciences.

Both the banquet and the address are part of Showcase, WSU’s weeklong celebration of academic excellence.

“This year’s honorees have made exceptional contributions to their disciplines, to the state and nation, and to the University community,” said Vice Provost Laura Hill, who co-chairs the Showcase Steering Committee. “Please extend your congratulations to them, and join us in celebrating their accomplishments at Showcase events this month.”

Professor Hunt will deliver her address at 3:45 p.m. on Wednesday, March 25, in the Compton Union Building Junior Ballroom. Entitled “Errors, Age, and the Environment: When Research Collides with the Real World,” her lecture will discuss environmental threats to reproductive health—and steps we can take to minimize exposure. Registration for the event is recommended.

Seating is limited for the Celebration of Excellence Banquet, to be held on Friday, March 27. Reserve seats early if you plan to attend.

The following individuals will receive this year’s Showcase awards:

Distinguished Faculty Address

  • Patricia Hunt
    School of Molecular Biosciences

Association for Faculty Women Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

  • Catherine “Katie” Marguerite Cooper
    School of the Environment

Emeritus Society Legacy of Excellence Award

  • Don Matteson
    Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

Faculty Diversity Award

  • Gisela Ernst-Slavit
    College of Education

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award

  • Kim Christen
    Digital Technology and Culture Program/Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation

President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty

  • Janet M. Peters
    Department of Psychology
  • Chris Dickey
    School of Music

President’s Employee Excellence Awards

  • Nina Woodford
    Office of the Campus Veterinarian
  • Karen Fischer
    Office of the Dean of Students, Division of Student Affairs
  • Sue Sheppard
    Northwest Public Broadcasting/Edward R. Murrow College of Communication
  • Denise Keeton
    Office of Commercialization
  • Kenneth Innami Porter
    College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Promotion to Regents Professor

  • Katrina L. Mealey
    Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

  • John Browse
    Institute of Biological Chemistry

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award – Instruction

  • Erika Gudrun Offerdahl
    School of Molecular Biosciences

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award – Leadership

  • Stephen Bollens
    School of Biological Sciences and School of the Environment/Meyer’s Point Environmental Field Station

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award – Outreach & Engagement

  • Cheryl B. Schultz
    School of Biological Sciences

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award – Research, Scholarship & Arts

  • Gregory W. Yasinitsky
    School of Music

V. Lane Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service

  • Rodney Croteau
    Institute of Biological Chemistry

Next Story

Strength in numbers

Prioritizing family, whether at home or on the field, is what drives Jake Dickert in his first full season as the WSU head football coach. Dickert and the Cougs play the Huskies in the Apple Cup this Saturday.

Recent News

Strength in numbers

Prioritizing family, whether at home or on the field, is what drives Jake Dickert in his first full season as the WSU head football coach. Dickert and the Cougs play the Huskies in the Apple Cup this Saturday.

Global Campus inducts first distinguished alumni

The first five inductees were Shelley Broader, Nancy Krook, Lisa King, Katey Koehn, and Gary Rubens — all leaders in business or philanthropy and supporters of the worldwide WSU Global Campus community.

Insider will return Monday, Nov. 28

WSU Insider is taking a break to join with the rest of the university community in celebrating the Thanksgiving holiday. Enjoy the break. We’ll be back the morning of Nov. 28 with fresh posts and all the latest information for the WSU community.

Learning from indigenous populations common thread in new grants

Three new grants with funding from the College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences will promote community education with a common focus on learning from Native populations.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates