WSU Pullman recognizes 2024 Chancellor’s Award winners

WSU students, faculty, and staff gathered on the Pullman campus on April 17 to recognize the winners of the 2024 Pullman Chancellor’s Awards. The newly created Chancellor’s Awards recognize individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the WSU Pullman and surrounding community, as well as those who support leadership development in WSU Pullman students. Beginning in 1996 as the “President’s Award for Leadership,” these awards are an honor bestowed annually to students and others representing the top leaders at WSU. The President’s Award for Leadership remains as an honor bestowed to the top leader at each WSU campus.

President’s Award for Leadership

  • Lilia Thompson

Chancellor’s Awards for Leadership

  • Jacob Buursma
  • Nazua Idris
  • Areli Orozco
  • Yesli Peña-Rodriguez
  • Johana Thomas Zapata

Distinguished Leader Awards

  • James Asare
  • Bryce Bekcer
  • Shay Boyd
  • Martin Churuvija
  • James Cox
  • Andrew Davila
  • Maura Dover
  • Vianey Granados
  • Vishnupriya Jonnalagadda
  • Chloe Kemmerling
  • William McGaughey
  • Matthew Milenko Paley
  • Carlos Motta
  • Joan Njenga
  • Tathagata Pal
  • Grant Rickard
  • Kristina Tynon
  • Ethan Villalovoz
  • Ariana Williamson

Virginia E. Thomas Scholarship

  • Johana Thomas Zapata

Faculty and Staff

  • Dr. Julie Cary
  • Hongtao Dang
  • LTC Matthew R. Sheftic

Registered Student Organizations (RSOs)

  • Allegro
  • Graduate Women of Color Alliance

Community Organizations

  • Humane Society of the Palouse
  • White Spring Ranch

Learn more about the awards

The Notices and Announcements section is provided as a service to the WSU community for sharing events such as lectures, trainings, and other highly transactional types of information related to the university experience. Information provided and opinions expressed may not reflect the understanding or opinion of WSU. Accuracy of the information presented is the responsibility of those who submitted it. The self-uploaded posts are reviewed for compliance with state statutes and ethics guidelines but are not edited for spelling, grammar, or clarity.

Next Story

Recent News

WSU crop sciences graduate receives fellowship a second time

After receiving the D.W. Steiger Family Graduate Fellowship in 2023, WSU PhD student Olufunke Ayegbidun was especially grateful to receive it another time in 2024.