A 15‑member search committee that includes faculty, staff, and student representation from throughout the WSU system has been selected to lead the search for the university’s next provost.

Julie Kmec, professor of sociology, and Stacy Pearson, vice president for finance and administration and WSU’s chief financial officer, will co‑chair the search. The goal is to name a new provost by the end of the spring semester.

The search committee will host a listening session for the WSU community from 4:15–5:00 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 18 in the CUB Jr. Ballroom (CUB 210) on the Pullman campus. Additional details will be announced soon.

The search committee includes:


  • Julie Kmec

    Professor of sociology, College of Arts and Sciences, WSU Pullman

  • Stacy Pearson

    Vice president for finance and administration and chief financial officer, WSU Pullman

Committee members

  • Morgan Atwood

    President, Student Government Council, and president, ASWSU Global

  • Celestina Barbosa‑Leiker

    Vice chancellor for research and associate professor, College of Nursing, WSU Health Sciences Spokane

  • Daryll DeWald

    Vice president for health sciences and chancellor, WSU Health Sciences Spokane

  • Obie Ford III

    Associate vice chancellor for equity, diversity, and inclusion, and chief diversity officer, WSU Vancouver

  • Brian French

    Berry Family Distinguished Professor and associate dean, research and external funding, College of Education, WSU Pullman

  • Manuel Garcia‑Pérez

    Professor, biological systems engineering, and director, Bioproducts, Sciences, and Engineering Laboratory, WSU Tri‑Cities

  • Debbie Lee

    Regents Professor of English, College of Arts and Sciences, and university ombudsman, WSU Pullman

  • Kate McAteer

    Vice chancellor for academic affairs and clinical associate professor of biology, WSU Tri‑Cities

  • Anna McLeod

    Associate director of student services, WSU Everett

  • Hanu Pappu

    Samuel H. Smith Distinguished Professor and Chuey Endowed Chair, plant pathology, WSU Pullman

  • Bruce Pinkleton

    Dean, Murrow College of Communication, WSU Pullman

  • Alex Tan

    Professor of communication and society, Murrow College of Communication, WSU Pullman

  • Dave Turnbull

    Professor of music, College of Arts and Sciences, WSU Pullman

Staff support and ex officio advisory members

  • Ginger Druffel

    Executive assistant to the president, Office of the President, WSU Pullman

  • Theresa Elliot‑Cheslek

    Associate vice president and chief human resource officer, WSU Pullman

  • Christine Hoyt

    Chief of staff, Office of the President, WSU Pullman

The executive recruiting firm of Isaacson, Miller will assist the search committee in identifying potential candidates for the job.

The provost serves as WSU’s chief academic officer, overseeing system‑wide academic programs and providing leadership for academic administrative operations and enrollment management functions. Bryan Slinker, who has served as dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine for more than a decade, is serving as interim provost through June 30.

Questions about the search may be directed to provost.search@wsu.edu.