Yogendra M. Gupta, WSU professor of physics and director of the Institute for Shock Physics, has been named the winner of the 2005 Eminent Faculty Award.

The $15,000 award was created in 2000 at the request of President V. Lane Rawlins to honor career-long excellence within WSU’s academic community. Recipients must have changed the thinking in their fields by making lasting contributions through teaching, research, creative scholarship and service. They must have made notable contributions to the vitality and strength of the WSU community.

Gupta is the fifth recipient of the highest honor the university bestows on a faculty member. For the list of previous honorees and more award information, please see http://provost.wsu.edu/awards_program/index.html.

Along with other award winning faculty and staff, Gupta will be honored at WSU’s Celebrating Excellence recognition banquet on April 1. More information about the banquet and other April 1 World Class Face to Face Showcase events can be found at http://www.showcase.wsu.edu and in a Dec. 17 WSU Today article at http://www.wsutoday.wsu.edu/completestory.asp?StoryID=1403.

Reservations accepted starting Feb. 18
Beginning today, Friday, Feb. 18, reservations will be accepted at http://www.showcase.wsu.edu for the April 1 Celebrating Excellence banquet. The banquet begins at 6:30 p.m., following a 5:30 p.m. social, in the Beasley Coliseum. Cost is $30 and reservations are required.