Gupta named Eminent Faculty Award winner

Yogendra M. Gupta, WSU professor of physics and director of the Institute for Shock Physics, has been named the winner of the 2005 Eminent Faculty Award.

The $15,000 award was created in 2000 at the request of President V. Lane Rawlins to honor career-long excellence within WSU’s academic community. Recipients must have changed the thinking in their fields by making lasting contributions through teaching, research, creative scholarship and service. They must have made notable contributions to the vitality and strength of the WSU community.

Gupta is the fifth recipient of the highest honor the university bestows on a faculty member. For the list of previous honorees and more award information, please see

Along with other award winning faculty and staff, Gupta will be honored at WSU’s Celebrating Excellence recognition banquet on April 1. More information about the banquet and other April 1 World Class Face to Face Showcase events can be found at and in a Dec. 17 WSU Today article at

Reservations accepted starting Feb. 18
Beginning today, Friday, Feb. 18, reservations will be accepted at for the April 1 Celebrating Excellence banquet. The banquet begins at 6:30 p.m., following a 5:30 p.m. social, in the Beasley Coliseum. Cost is $30 and reservations are required.

Next Story

SURCA 2024 applications open to WSU undergraduates through Feb. 20

Students can submit abstracts to present their mentored research, scholarship, and creative activity for the Showcase for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities this spring.

Recent News

Computer science project has students singing a new tune

A WSU student team developed an India raga music app for a startup company as part of a senior program that has students work on projects for real-world clients.

IRS special agents lead accounting exercise

Known as the IRS Citizens Academy, it is intended to showcase potential career pathways for accounting students within the agency’s enforcement arm.

WSU students find new paths to the Clearwater

Landscape architecture students are developing plans for accessible trails along the Clearwater River in Kamiah, Idaho. They will present their designs at 2:30 p.m. on Dec. 6 on the Pullman campus.