Three Minute Thesis has its 2023 winner

Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Chilton, Benjamin Stuart Morledge-Hampton, and WSU President Kirk Schulz pose for a picture.

Benjamin Stuart Morledge-Hampton from the College of Veterinary Medicine has won Washington State University’s 2023 Three Minute Thesis (3MT).

In its ninth year at WSU, 3MT is a competition for doctoral students. Each of them gets only three minutes to effectively communicate their research to a panel of judges. These judges included, among others, WSU President Kirk Schulz, First Lady Noel Schulz, and Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Chilton. 

Morledge-Hampton, from the Molecular Biosciences Program, became the college’s second overall winner. Except for the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (three), no other college has won more than one.

Morledge-Hampton’s presentation was titled: “Are you smarter than a computer?” It dealt with locating and comparing specific DNA sequences that can produce persistent problems for our bodies and has the potential to lead to life-threatening diseases, like cancer.

“These tricky problems require clever solutions that combine both our knowledge of computer science and biology,” Morledge-Hampton said about his research.

As winner of the event, Morledge-Hampton receives a a travel grant for $3,000 to be applied to a research conference of his choice.

Elizabeth Thompson from WSU Vancouver won second and a $1,500 travel grant. Alexa Lambros from the College of Arts and Sciences took third place and a $500 travel grant.

On Twitter, Kirk Schulz wrote: “It was fun service as a judge for (Three Minute Thesis). Congrats to all participants, this was the best overall set of presentations I have seen in my seven years at #WSU. #GoCougs”

Chilton tweeted: “Our students are amazing!! This was a blast!”

For more information on Three Minute Thesis, including on each presentation, visit

Next Story

Recent News

Sweat health monitor measures levels of disease markers

A 3D-printed, wearable health monitor developed by WSU researchers was shown to reliably measure levels of important biochemicals in sweat during physical exercise.

Remembering our history this Juneteenth

WSU System President Kirk Schulz shares a message reminding everyone of the significance and importance of Juneteenth, and the enduring fight for equality that continues today.

Regents approve biennial operating budget request

At a special online meeting on June 17, the WSU Board of Regents approved four action items, including the university’s 2025–27 Biennial Operating Budget Request from the state.

Hot but not bothered

WSU’s new Perennial Grass Breeding and Ecology Farm is developing resilient combinations of grasses that could better withstand hot temperatures.