Murrow College announces 2022 Hall of Achievement class

Exterior view of Murrow Hall at night.
Murrow Hall on the WSU Pullman campus

Washington State University alumni Bill Stevens, Carolyn Sawyer and Enrique Cerna will be honored by the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication as 2022 Hall of Achievement Award recipients at the 46th Murrow Symposium held April 5-6. Every year, the Hall of Achievement at Murrow College honors and recognizes outstanding achievements of select graduates.

Closeup of Bill Stevens.
Bill Stevens

Bill Stevens

Stevens, a 1987 Murrow College graduate, is the associate athletic director for athletic communications for WSU Athletics. He is in his 17th year at Washington State University and is responsible for the department’s overall communications strategy and serves as the primary sport contact for football and women’s tennis. Prior to WSU, Stevens spent five years in the UC Davis sports information office, and nine years with the Sacramento Kings as assistant director of public relations and later as manager of creative services.

Closeup of Carolyn Sawyer.
Carolyn Sawyer

Carolyn Sawyer

Sawyer has focused her voice and communication skills around equity and justice for nearly 40 years. She started her broadcast journalism career at 19 years old while still attending WSU Pullman. Sawyer’s broadcast journalism career spanned nearly two decades in front of the camera, working at stations including KHQ-TV, WIS-TV, WSB-TV, WBZ-TV, ABC Network News and the Lifetime Television Network. After leaving broadcast news in 1996, Sawyer launched an international marketing communications firm, the Tom Sawyer Company, where she continues her work in enhanced strategies for communicating critical messages.

Closeup of Enrique Cerna.
Enrique Cerna

Enrique Cerna

Cerna is a veteran journalist and ten-time Northwest regional Emmy winner. During his 47-year career in Seattle media, ​​Cerna worked for 23 years at KCTS 9 and retired in February 2018 as senior correspondent. Prior to KCTS, he worked as a reporter, producer and host for KOMO Radio and Television and KING Television. Cerna produced and hosted award-winning national programs and electoral analysis for PBS, and has moderated U.S. Senate, Congressional, Gubernatorial and Mayoral debates. In March 2020, Cerna was appointed to the Washington State University Board of Regents.

The award ceremony will be held during the 46th Murrow Symposium. In addition to the Hall of Achievement award ceremony, additional Murrow Symposium events including workshops and panel discussions will take place both virtually and in person on Tuesday, April 5 and Wednesday, April 6. More information, including how to sign up to attend or participate, can be found on the Murrow Symposium website.

Next Story

Employee Assistance Program hosts special sessions, April 17

Washington State Employee Assistance Program Director Jennifer Nguyen will lead two discussions tomorrow on the topics of change and personal wellbeing. Both presentations will be livestreamed.

Recent News

The 2024 Seattle Experience highlights resiliency

The faculty-led alternative spring break program hosted by the College of Arts and Sciences helps students develop professional skills while networking with business leaders in the region.

Deadly bacteria show thirst for human blood

A WSU-led study has found the some of the world’s deadliest bacteria seek out and feed on human blood, a phenomenon researchers are calling “bacterial vampirism.”

Three WSU students receive national Goldwater Awards

Clara Ehinger, Julia Jitkov, and Brayan Osegueda Velazquez are the latest recipients of national Barry Goldwater distinguished scholarships.

WSU among leaders in antimicrobial resistance research

The university received $1.52 million in funding for antimicrobial resistance research from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in 2023, the second most of any university in the Western U.S.