John McCloy recipient of national ceramics award

By Mary Catherine Frantz, intern, Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

John McCloy wsu materials engineering

PULLMAN, Wash. – John McCloy, associate professor in WSU’s School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, has received the prestigious Richard M. Fulrath Award from the American Ceramic Society.

The award supports collaboration between Japanese and American ceramic engineers and understanding among scientists across Pacific Rim cultures. Award winners are individuals who demonstrate excellence in research and development of ceramic sciences and materials.

With WSU since 2013, McCloy has 10 years of industry experience working with optical and electronic materials and five years of national laboratory experience. His research interests include nuclear waste forms, structure and crystallization of glass, nano-magnetism, advanced characterization techniques and sensors for extreme environments.

McCloy received his doctoral and master’s degree from the University of Arizona in material science and engineering. He received a bachelor’s degree in materials science and engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He also holds a master’s degree in cultural anthropology from the University of Arizona. In 2013 and 2015, he was honored as a delegate to the National Academy of Engineering’s Frontiers of Engineering program. He was also recently named as a fellow of The American Ceramic Society.

McCloy will receive the award at the American Ceramic Society Honors and Awards Banquet at their 120th Annual Meeting this October in Columbus, Ohio.



  • Tina Hilding, communications director, Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture, 509-335-5095,

Next Story

Recent News

Center for Entrepreneurship hires new executive director

Paul Warner, an experienced business owner, digital marketer, and consultant, has been appointed executive director of the WSU Center for Entrepreneurship in the Carson College of Business.

Jeffrey Vervoort elected 2024 Geochemistry Fellow

The WSU geology professor received the honor in recognition of his research from the Geochemical Society and European Association of Geochemistry.