Awarded faculty will be honored in showcase

Seven awards recipients were recently announced, and will be honored at the annual Showcase celebration in March.
Reservations for showcase events, including the Distinguished Faculty Address luncheon and Celebrating Excellence recognition banquet, mayb be made Feb. 6-March 13. Prices, other information and instructions for making reservations can be found online at:


Eminent Faculty Award
Michael D. Griswold, Regents Professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences and dean of the College of Sciences, has earned the 2009 Eminent Faculty Award for his lasting contributions as an administrator, teacher, researcher, adviser and mentor.

He joined the faculty in 1976.
He has maintained an active, funded research program while serving administratively and has published more than 185 papers and trained more than 50 doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.  He is recognized as a leading authority in the study of male reproductive biology, specifically the role of the Sertoli cell in sperm cell development. 
Griswold received the WSU Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Research, Scholarship and Arts in 1998-99 and was named a Regents Professor in 2008. He received a MERIT award from the National Institutes of Health and has served as president of the Society for the Study of Reproduction. He received the research award from the Society for the Study of Reproduction in 2006 and received the Frontiers in Reproduction Beacon Award and Lectureship in 2008. 


Distinguished Faculty Address

Wendy C. Brown, professor in veterinary microbiology and pathology, has been awarded the honor of delivering the Distinguished Faculty Address for 2009.
On the faculty since 1995, she and collaborators have developed the scientific basis for the eventual production of rationally designed and effective vaccines against diseases caused by protozoal and rickettsial infectious agents and have laid the foundation for extrapolation of these approaches to similar diseases of humans. 
In 2007, Brown was named an American Association for the Advancement of Science fellow for her distinguished contributions to understanding T-lymphocyte responses to obligate intracellular tick-borne protozoal and rickettsial pathogens yielding vaccine candidates and novel mechanisms used to modulate host immunity.

Van Wie

Marian E. Smith Award

Bernard J. Van Wie, professor in the School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, has received the 2008 Marian E. Smith Faculty Achievement Award for his outstanding international education accomplishments during 2007-08.
A member of WSU faculty since 1983, his teaching accomplishments in 2007-08 grew to include worldwide influence as a U.S. Fulbright lecturer and researcher to Nigeria. He taught using a unique, one-cubic-foot desktop learning module that he developed under a National Science Foundation grant to improve engineering education. He also conducted research on biosensors to detect toxins in cassava, a food staple in Nigeria.
The global impact of this work was recognized when Van Wie and colleagues received initial $250,000 Phase I support from a World Bank grant.


Four faculty earn Sahlin Honors

– Carol Anelli, associate professor of entomology, has received the 2008-09 Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Instruction.
On the WSU faculty since 1996, she was one of the first members selected to serve on the President’s Teaching Academy and also served as its first chair. Her course contents, materials, teaching methods and even examinations have been highly praised by students and peers on the local and national level. 
She serves on the Teaching Academy Board of Directors and is chair of the All University Writing Committee.


Terry F. McElwain, professor, veterinary microbiology and pathology and School for Global Animal Health, has received the 2008-09 Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Outreach and Engagement.

On WSU faculty since 1989, McElwain became director of the Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory (WADDL) in 1993. He played a vital role in the formation of the National Animal Health Laboratory Network and has reached out to international audiences, in part as the U.S. representative to the World Animal Health Organization.
W. Sue Ritter, professor, veterinary and comparative anatomy,


pharmacology and physiology, has received the 2008-09 Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Research, Scholarship and Arts.

A part of the WSU faculty since 1974, she is working on research important to the understanding of several aspects of human health, including obesity and diabetes.
She has received grant funding from the National Institutes of Health for 31 of her 34 years at WSU, including a U56 grant.
Kenneth L. Casavant, professor and scientist, School of Economic Sciences, has


received the 2008-08 Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Leadership.

Casavant has been a faculty member at WSU since 1969, serving in numerous leadership capacities including co-chairing the Academic Affairs Program Prioritization (A2P2) task forces.
He serves as the faculty athletic representative to the NCAA and Pac-10. He also leads the Transportation Research Group of the School of Economic Sciences.

Next Story

Recent News

Lee receives award for mental health messaging research

Murrow researcher Yen-I Lee’s project to help encourage international students to access mental health services earned a $10,000 award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

WSU crop sciences graduate receives fellowship a second time

After receiving the D.W. Steiger Family Graduate Fellowship in 2023, WSU PhD student Olufunke Ayegbidun was especially grateful to receive it another time in 2024.