Liberal Arts announces 2008 award winners

PULLMAN – The College of Liberal Arts (CLA) at WSU held its 2008 awards ceremony April 22. A range of awards, along with service certificates and retirements, were acknowledged.

CLA recognized the contributions of Annette White-Parks (Ph.D. ’91, American studies) by awarding her the Distinguished Friends and Alumni Achievement Award. The award recognizes those who have achieved the highest levels of success in their personal and professional lives and who have shared that success through their involvement in the university or community.

Scholar, author and peace-activist, White-Parks earned her doctoral degree from WSU at age 56. She joined the English faculty of the University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse, after graduating and is now professor emeritus. Since retiring White-Parks has revived the small literary press Freshcut, is involved in writing groups, works to find help for the homeless and is engaged in peace-justice activities in the Portland, Ore., community.

“Annette continues in retirement to actively demonstrate her commitments to women, to writing and to research,” said Susan Armitage, WSU professor of history and director of American studies when White-Parks was a graduate student. “She is an outstanding exemplar of the values of scholarship and diversity that WSU supports.”

Retired Macy’s executive Ed Cooney and WSU trustees Sue H. and Roger M. Johnson (B.A. ’67, general studies) and Beverly Smith (B.S. ’68, psychology) will also receive Distinguished Friends and Alumni Achievement Awards in May.

David L. Coon, associate professor in the Department of History, was awarded the William F. Mullen Excellence in Teaching Award. The prize recognizes faculty members who exemplify excellence with an emphasis on involvement with students and student groups outside of the classroom.
The Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award recognized the work of Patricia Sias, professor in the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication.

William Andrefsky Jr., professor of anthropology, and William Hamlin, professor of English, were named Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professors.

The Outstanding Staff Award was presented to Lillian K. Parkins, program support supervisor in the Department of Fine Arts.
Recognition of Service as Chair/Director certificates were presented to Travis Pratt, director of criminal justice, 2005-2008; T.V. Reed, director of American studies, 1996-2008; Noël Sturgeon, chair of women’s studies, 1998-2008; and Edward Weber, director of the Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service, 2001-2008.

Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo, associate professor of comparative ethnic studies; Susan Ross, associate professor of communication; and Paul Whitney, professor of psychology, received Recognition of Service as Associate Deans.
The Lewis E. and Stella G. Buchanan Distinguished Assistant Professorship in English and Distinguished Professorship in English were awarded to Todd Butler and Reed, respectively.

The Boeing Distinguished Professorship in Environmental Sociology was bestowed on Gregory Hooks, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology.

Birgitta Ingemanson, associate professor of Russian, was presented with the newly established Marianna Merritt and Donald S. Matteson Distinguished Professorship in Foreign Languages and Cultures. The Mattesons were present at the ceremony.

Twenty-five-year service awards went to Debbie Brudie, comparative ethnic studies; Timothy Doebler, fine arts; Jane Fredrickson, anthropology; John Hinson, psychology; Parkins; Jacqueline Peterson, history, WSU Vancouver; and Ruth Self, Division of Governmental Studies and Services.

Thirty-year service awards were presented to Armitage; Joan Burbick, English; Timothy Kohler, anthropology; and Eugene Rosa, sociology.

Forty-year service awards were presented to Paul Brians, English, and Richard Hume, history.

Retirees recognized at the event were Armitage; LeRoy Ashby, history; Brians; Andrea Chosch-Pittenger, theatre and dance; Terrence Cook, political science; Coon; Edwin Garretson, history; Elizabeth Krueger, communication; Rich Lewis, sociology; Kathryn Meyer, history; Camille Roman, English; and Susan Swan, general education.

Next Story

Recent News

Student receives NASA graduate fellowship

Ian Wells, a mechanical and materials engineering graduate student, has won a NASA Space Technology Graduate Research Opportunities fellowship.

Summer schedule for WSU Insider

Look for news highlights in the daily push email most days Monday through Thursday through late August, with Friday emails resuming around the start of the fall semester.