WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Bayly to chair Provost Search Committee

PULLMAN – Warwick Bayly, dean of the WSU College of Veterinary Medicine, will chair the committee which will conduct
a national search for the successor to Provost Robert Bates.

President Elson S. Floyd announced the members of the search committee today (Jan. 16). Bates announced last week that he would be stepping down as provost as of July 1. He has served as provost, the university’s chief academic officer, for six years.

“Finding an outstanding successor to Dr. Bates is vital to the continued progress of our university. I am pleased that Dean Bayly and the other members of this committee have agreed to serve in this important role,” Floyd said.

The other members of the search committee are:

Patricia Butterfield, dean, Intercollegiate College of Nursing;
Jay Brunner, director and entomologist, Tree Fruit Research and Extension Center;
Kenneth Carper, professor, School of Architecture and Construction
Manpreet Chahal, president, Graduate and Professional Students Association;
Hal Dengerink, chancellor, WSU Vancouver;
Lenoar Foster, professor and associate dean for research and graduate studies, College of Education;
John Fraire, vice president of enrollment management;
Jordan Hightower, Associated Students of WSU;
Carol Ivory, professor and chair, Department of Fine Arts;
Kim Kidwell, professor and associate dean, academic programs, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences;
Sandie Kruse, Administrative Professional Advisory Council, WSU Spokane;
Fran McSweeney, professor of psychology and vice provost for faculty affairs;
Ron Mittlehammer, director and Regents Professor, School of Economic Sciences;
Grant Norton, professor and associate dean of research and graduate programs, College of Engineering & Architecture
Mary Sanchez-Lanier, associate dean for student affairs, College of Sciences;
Bryan Slinker, professor and chair, Department of Veterinary Comparative Anatomy, Pharmacology and Physiology;
Ken Struckmeyer, associate professor, Department of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, and chair of the Faculty Senate.

Floyd said he hopes the committee will have a new provost in place by the time Bates steps down from the position.

Next Story

Recent News

Update from the WSU Pullman Chancellor-Designate

As I step into the dual role of provost and WSU Pullman chancellor over the next several months, I look forward to meeting more of you and hearing your ideas on how to build on the strength of our flagship campus.

NSF grant tackles Arctic data problem

A $1.25 million National Science Foundation grant will spur development of a platform to help researchers better manage data about the vast and poorly understood Arctic.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates