Awards & Honors

If you or someone you know has received an honor, please e-mail the information to Cynthia King at

• WSU Today, the faculty and staff newspaper and news website, won a national excellence award for newspaper design from the University and College Designers Association.

Joyce Harbison, principal assistant for the Department of Pharmacotherapy, won the 2006-07 administrative professional staff excellence award and Kristie Wardrop, program coordinator for the Interdisciplinary Design Institute, won the 2006-07 civil service staff excellence award from WSU Spokane. They were selected by their peers in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the campus and greater Spokane community.

Eugene A. Rosa, Edward R. Meyer Professor of Natural Resource & Environmental Policy in WSU’s Thomas S. Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service, is the only university-affiliated academic invited to speak at a nuclear power policy conference in Washington, D.C. The invitation-only conference, sponsored by the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy, will be in October.

• WSU criminal justice Ph.D. candidates won two of only 12 spots in the national Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Quantitative Analysis of Crime and Criminal Justice seminar over the summer. Yu-Sheng “Linus” Lin and Jeffrey W. Rosky were awarded $3,500 stipends by the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) to cover the costs of travel and stay. Lin explored changes in race/ethnicity disparity for those given pretrial release. Rosky examined the relationship between methamphetamine and violent crime.

Next Story

Recent News

Center for Entrepreneurship hires new executive director

Paul Warner, an experienced business owner, digital marketer, and consultant, has been appointed executive director of the WSU Center for Entrepreneurship in the Carson College of Business.

Jeffrey Vervoort elected 2024 Geochemistry Fellow

The WSU geology professor received the honor in recognition of his research from the Geochemical Society and European Association of Geochemistry.