WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Business college honors top students, faculty, staff

The College of Business at Washington State University has recognized 42 of its faculty, stafff and students for outstanding achievement and excellence.

The awards for faculty and staff were announced at a college-wide reception on April 27, while student awards were announced at the Celebration of Student Excellence on April, 13.

“The high caliber of our faculty, staff, and students makes it difficult to determine who receives theses awards each year,” says Dean Eric Spangenberg. “We are fortunate to have so many dedicated and exceptional people in the College of Business.”

The Outstanding Faculty Award winners were:

* Teaching, Bintong Chen, management and operations

* Research, Gene Lai, finance, and Mark A. Fuller, information systems

* Service, Joseph A. Cote, marketing, WSU Vancouver

* Linda Infranco, development principal assistant, received the award for outstanding staff, for her work and dedication on the College of Business development team.

Three Outstanding Graduate Students were recognized for excellence in teaching and research:

* Teaching, Victor (Chung-Ming) Shi, management and operations, and Jared Hamburg, accounting; and research, Kelly Duggan Martin, marketing

Faculty receiving College of Business Teaching Innovation Grants from departments throughout the college were: K.D. Joshi, Tom Nunamaker, Michael J. McNamara, Debra Sanders.

Eighteen faculty members were named Dean’s Excellence Fellows: Sung K. Ahn, Jon Becker-Blease, Bintong Chen, John Cullen, Mark A. Fuller, Jerry Goodstein, K.D. Joshi, Gene Lai, Michael J. McNamara, Darrel Muehling, John Nofsinger, Chris Plouffe, Dennis Reynolds, Suprateek Sarker, Rick Sias, David Sprott, John Sweeney and Joe Valacich

Additionally, three new faculty fellowships were awarded: Donna Paul was awarded the Bill and Patty Ward Faculty Fellowship; Yany Gregoire was awarded the Ann and Pat Redmond Faculty Fellowship; and Steve Thornburg was awarded the Ogg Faculty Fellowship.

Each year, CB departments recognize ‘Outstanding Students’ for exceptional scholarly and extracurricular achievements. This year, Outstanding Student awards went to: Andrew Stephen Jensen, accounting; Julienne Marie Fitzgerald and Jennifer Noel Gosciewski, entrepreneurship; Jeffrey William Nickell, finance; Ashley Morgan Loyd, hospitality business management; Danielle Nicole Brown, international business; Brianne Jill Lovell and Ryan Edward Scott, management and operations; Allyson Brianne Porterfield, management information systems; and Lyndee Star Giese, marketing

This year’s Reaching for Success Award Program (RSAP) honorees from the Scott and Linda Carson Center for Professional Development were: Luke Andrew Hallowell, international business, and Kevin Charles Spohr, accounting. RSAP recognizes students for achievements in education, skills, experience, and networking.

For more information, visit the college’s website at

Next Story

Recent News

WSU Athletics addresses $11.5 million budget deficit

The shortfall is from a combination of unexpected decreases in Pac‑12 Conference revenue distributions, other revenue sources falling short of projection, and operating costs that exceeded the approved budget.

Former astronomy professor leaves $1 million for WSU

The generous gift establishes a distinguished professorship, a teaching excellence award, and a science and mathematics scholarship in the College of Arts and Sciences to honor Tom and Julie Lutz.

WSU Vice President Chaudhry honored by university in Romania

Asif J. Chaudhry, vice president of WSU’s Office of International Programs and WSU Pullman vice chancellor, was recently awarded the title Doctor Honoris Causa of Ovidius University in Constanta, Romania.

Ji Yun Lee receives NSF CAREER award for community resilience research

The assistant professor in WSU’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering received the National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career award for her work helping communities better prepare for wildfires.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates