Facilities Operations asks for cooperation in building safety

Facilities Operations maintenance and custodial divisions are asking for the help of all university campus departments to improve the security of campus buildings during off hours.

The Facilities Operations dispatch center has been receiving a large number of calls from individuals requesting to have buildings’ exterior doors or office areas unlocked for them. While Facilities Operations has unlocked building doors during non-working hours in the past, it will no longer be a practice due to the need for added security in many areas.

Facilities Operations will not unlock a door that will allow a person to enter an area they are not authorized to enter. Each department has an individual who coordinates the issuing of keys for their department; any person who needs access after hours should contact their department manager or key coordinator so they can be issued keys.

Each department’s key coordinator operates independently, and may have additional requirements before keys are issued. If a building does not have a departmental key coordinator, please contact Maintenance and Utilities Services Manager Howard L. Gossage, by e-mail at howard_gossage@wsu.edu, or by phone at 335-9001.

Campus buildings will be locked during the Christmas break, from Friday, Dec. 23 through Monday, Dec 26. A notice with more information will be posted on WSU Announcements later in December. Those with a scheduled event that requires a building to be unlocked during this time should contact Custodial Manager Tom Parrish by e-mail at parrish@wsu.edu, or by phone at 335-9023, no later than noon on Wednesday, Dec. 21.

Next Story

Recent News

Remembering our history this Juneteenth

WSU System President Kirk Schulz shares a message reminding everyone of the significance and importance of Juneteenth, and the enduring fight for equality that continues today.

Regents approve biennial operating budget request

At a special online meeting on June 17, the WSU Board of Regents approved four action items, including the university’s 2025–27 Biennial Operating Budget Request from the state.

Hot but not bothered

WSU’s new Perennial Grass Breeding and Ecology Farm is developing resilient combinations of grasses that could better withstand hot temperatures.

Students SOAR with new mentoring program

The Student Outreach and Retention pilot program connects students with mentors to help guide them in their careers.