WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Open Enrollment: Premium payment plan election/change form

The majority of eligible employees pay for their medical premiums with pre-tax dollars from their salary, as allowed by Internal Revenue Service Code Section 125 (also known as the state’s Premium Payment Plan).

During the annual Open Enrollment period or a special open enrollment, employees can choose to waive their participation in the state’s Premium Payment Plan and have their medical premiums deducted post-tax. Employees who previously waived participation in the Premium Payment Plan may re-enroll during open enrollment. To make this change, please complete and submit your post-tax medical plan election in Workday by November 30, 2021.

For more information on how IRC Section 125 applies to PEBB coverage, as well as who would possibly benefit from paying their premiums on a post-tax basis, please refer to the 2022 Employee Enrollment Guide, page 18, under Paying for Benefits.

Please contact HRS Benefits at 509-335-4521 or email if you have questions.

The Notices and Announcements section is provided as a service to the WSU community for sharing events such as lectures, trainings, and other highly transactional types of information related to the university experience. Accuracy of the information presented is the responsibility of those who submitted it. The self-uploaded posts are reviewed for compliance with state statutes and ethics guidelines but are not edited by the News and Media Relations unit for spelling, grammar or clarity.

Categories: Announcements

Recent News

Hearing boards seek new members

Washington State University’s Community Standards boards are seeking new faculty and staff members from all disciplines at any campus location.

Five WSU faculty named AAAS Fellows

Professors Santanu Bose, Tom Kawula, Bernd Markus Lange, Jill McCluskey, and Katrina Mealey have all been elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Find More News