WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Undergraduate research fellowship applications open through Jan. 21

Washington State University undergraduate students can apply online now through Jan. 21 for seven awards totaling over $50,000 to support mentored undergraduate research, scholarship, and creative activities in academic year 2022-23, said Mary Sánchez Lanier, assistant vice provost.

“Thanks to the vision of generous donors and other funding for seven awards, students from all majors and campuses can become recipients,” she said.

“Engaging in undergraduate research gives awardees high-impact, hands-on learning experiences. It also allows them to spend more time concentrating on their research efforts rather than having to work at a job, for example.”

A variety of awards are available this year. Three are presented by the Office of Undergraduate Research in the Division of Academic Engagement and Student Achievement (DAESA), and another is awarded by DAESA’s WSU LSAMP (Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation) program. One more is from the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture, another from the Team Mentoring Program (TMP), and a grant is available from the WSU Emeritus Society.

For more information and to access the online application form, visit the awards page on the undergraduate research website.

Select from seven awards

The application form asks applicants to select among the awards available, with the option to choose more than one. Most applicants are eligible for an Auvil Scholars Fellowship and the Undergraduate Research Fellowship, said Sánchez Lanier.

  • The Auvil Scholars Fellowship is for undergraduates in all majors and years in college, and at all WSU campus locations. This fund was created in 2006 from an estate gift by Grady and Lillie Auvil, Wenatchee tree-fruit entrepreneurs. Hundreds of undergraduates across WSU have received funding from this award and become Auvil Fellows during their baccalaureate program.
  • The Scott and Linda Carson Undergraduate Research Excellence Award is the first university-wide undergraduate research award that gives preference to recipients who are upper-division students (juniors and seniors). The fund was created in 2013 by the Carson’s, WSU alumni who have long supported WSU with their service and financial gifts.
  • The Undergraduate Research Award is made possible by donor gifts that support a wide variety of students pursuing undergraduate research opportunities. Recipients of these awards come from across the university. Awardees are called Undergraduate Research Fellows.
  • The DeVlieg Foundation Award was established by a private, tax-exempt charity to support sophomore and junior students in the WSU Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture who are pursuing research into renewable energy. Applicants must have a 3.0 GPA. Recipients of the award are known as DeVlieg Fellows.
  • WSL LSAMP Research Awards are for LSAMP program participants at Pullman who are pursuing studies in a science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) discipline. The program serves students who are Native-Alaskan/Native American, African American/Black, Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, and/or two or more races when combined with any of these previously stated races. Awardees are known as WSU LSAMP Research Fellows. WSU LSAMP is an NSF-sponsored program.
  • The Team Mentoring Program Research Awards are sponsored by the Washington Research Foundation and The Boeing Co. This program is designed to maximize the experience of STEM students and pre-health majors, and to increase their retention, achievement, graduation, and preparation for post-baccalaureate endeavors. These awards can encourage and support students served by the TMP in accessing such opportunities and help to transform their educational experience and bridge the access gap for URM students in STEM-related fields. Since 2009, dozens of students have received funding from these awards and became TMP Scholars.
  • The Emeritus Society Undergraduate Research Grant in Arts and Humanities was new in 2021 and awarded to two recipients then. It supports faculty-mentored undergraduate research and creative activities at any stage of development. The goal of these grants is to encourage students engaged in and studying the fine and performing arts; exploring modern and ancient languages, literature, cultures, philosophy, and history; and examining human culture and expression from defined perspectives in the wide range of related interdisciplinary programs at WSU.

Next Story

Hearing boards seek new members

Washington State University’s Community Standards boards are seeking new faculty and staff members from all disciplines at any campus location.

Recent News

Hearing boards seek new members

Washington State University’s Community Standards boards are seeking new faculty and staff members from all disciplines at any campus location.

Five WSU faculty named AAAS Fellows

Professors Santanu Bose, Tom Kawula, Bernd Markus Lange, Jill McCluskey, and Katrina Mealey have all been elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates