WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

The Graduate School Fifth Annual Evening of Excellence

A photo of Steven Hobaica and Anne Fuller with a trophy
Clinical psychology graduate students Steven Hobaica and Anne Fuller celebrate their graduate student excellence awards at the fifth annual Evening of Excellence on April 4, 2019.

The Graduate School hosted the fifth annual Evening of Excellence on April 4, 2019 at the Courtyard Marriott in Pullman. Twenty-one graduate student scholarship recipients were recognized, as well as the recipient of the Graduate School Faculty Mentor Academy Award for Excellence.

More than 100 people attended this year’s Evening of Excellence, including WSU President Kirk H. Schulz, Dr. Noel Schulz, the Dean of the Graduate School Lisa Gloss, Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education at Virginia Tech Dr. Karen DePauw, and awardees and their mentors and families.

“I want to express my deepest gratitude to the donors of the scholarship for their generosity in granting me this award,” said Tabitha Velasco, the awardee of the Karen P. DePauw Leadership Award. “I am grateful for the support that the award and the Graduate School have provided for graduate students to continue to serve their communities through research, scholarship, and public engagement.”

All student scholarship recipients were nominated by the deans of their colleges. The types of Graduate School scholarships and the criteria for each scholarship can be found on the Graduate School website.

The Evening of Excellence 2019 Photo Gallery is available at

Arnold and Julia Greenwell Memorial Scholarship for Social Sciences and Humanities
• Karl Krotke-Crandall – History
• Rebecca Lindsey – Psychology

Charles Allen Master’s Thesis Award
• Gregory Keiser – Psychology

Graduate School Dissertation Year Fellowship
• Courtney Benjamin – Education
• Laura Ellyson – Anthropology

Graduate School Scholarship
• Andrew Gillreath-Brown – Anthropology

Karen P. DePauw Leadership Award
• Amy Nusbaum – Psychology
• Tabitha Velasco – English

Richard R. and Constance M. Albrecht Scholarship
• Steven Hobaica – Psychology
• Amy Nusbaum – Psychology
• Shi (Steve) Xu – Chemistry

Russ and Anne Fuller Fellowship for Interdisciplinary Research/Scholarship
• Andrew Gillreath-Brown – Anthropology
• Catherine Sumida – Psychology

GPSA Excellence Awards
• Bethany Fennell – Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor
• Gihan Edirisinghe — Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor
• Qusay Bkour – Outstanding Research Assistant
• Rasool Mohebifard — Outstanding Research Assistant
• Ernesto Martinez — Outstanding Teaching Assistant
• Maryam Davaritouchae — Outstanding Teaching Assistant
• Davi Kallman — Outstanding Graduate Assistant
• Katie Reilly — Outstanding Graduate Assistant

Next Story

Recent News

Enrollment efforts across the system

WSU is seeing early indications of a return to pre‑COVID application levels thanks to the coordinated efforts of faculty and staff across the university system.

Students have eyes on spaceflight

WSU Everett engineering students are building a rocket to compete in NASA's student rocket competition which will culminate with a final launch April 13–15 at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates