WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

42 students earn Leadership, Engagement Awards of Distinction

Leadership, Engagement Awards of Distinction winners for 2018
Leadership, Engagement Awards of Distinction winners for 2018.

By Alexiss Nichole Turner, Student Affairs

PULLMAN, Wash. – Forty-two undergraduate and graduate Washington State University students systemwide were recognized during the 2018 Leadership and Engagement Awards of Distinction ceremony on April 17.

Award recipients demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community and support the leadership development and engagement of WSU students. Recipients are selected through a nomination process open to all WSU campuses. Award categories include undergraduates, graduates, faculty and staff, student groups and community organizations.

The Leadership and Engagement Awards of Distinction (LEAD) ceremony also included the announcement of the 2018 Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship recipient. As director of the leadership center at WSU, 1995-2001, and founding director of what is now WSU Student Involvement until 2003, Thomas served the university and its students in a variety of roles. The $1,000 scholarship is presented to an undergraduate student who has impacted student life at WSU through the leadership coaching of others.

The 2018 President’s Award for Leadership Recipients include:

Undergraduate Students

  • Parker Blekkenk
  • Xy’lah Brandes
  • Shanelle Briggs
  • Leo Covarrubias
  • Jenna Damberg
  • Haley Delgado
  • Cameron Dwyer
  • Rick Flores
  • Rachel Forbes
  • Devon Holze
  • Abu Kamara
  • Joe Kurle
  • Navaraj Lamichhane
  • Hannah Lee
  • Jamie Lepper
  • Pablo Lozano
  • Keesha Matz
  • Lambert Ngenzi
  • Nam Nguyen
  • Kimber Nunez
  • Hannah Oliason
  • Rachel Oliver
  • Anthony Plagge
  • Gabriella Ramos
  • Savannah Rogers
  • Kiera Rust
  • Erik Sandoval
  • Garrett Snedeker
  • Jordan Sykes
  • Elizabeth Warren
  • Omar Zaragoza
  • Andrew Zou

Graduate Students

  • Motahare Athariboroujeny
  • Teresa Bigand
  • Duy Ho
  • Kristin Kontogianis
  • Sarah Anne Kostick
  • Shane R. Reynolds
  • Jing Sun
  • Ashley Ta
  • Stefanija M. Tubbs
  • Jordan Zager

Student Groups

  • Camp Adventure at WSU
  • WSU Diversity in Psychology Committee
  • La Hermandad De O eMe Te
  • Minority Association of Pre-Law
  • Panhellenic Council
  • Society of Women Engineers
  • United Greek Council

Faculty and Staff

  • Robin Bond & Ana Maria Rodriguez-Vivaldi
  • Kathy Beerman
  • Leila Harrison
  • Chioma Heim
  • Chanmi Hwang

Community Organizations

  • Pullman Schools Food Pantry Program

Virginia E. Thomas Endowed Scholarship Recipient

  • Elizabeth Warren


For more information or to view past award recipients, visit the LEAD website.


Alexiss Turner, Marketing and Communications Coordinator, 509-335-8372,

Next Story

Recent News

WSU Athletics addresses $11.5 million budget deficit

The shortfall is from a combination of unexpected decreases in Pac‑12 Conference revenue distributions, other revenue sources falling short of projection, and operating costs that exceeded the approved budget.

Former astronomy professor leaves $1 million for WSU

The generous gift establishes a distinguished professorship, a teaching excellence award, and a science and mathematics scholarship in the College of Arts and Sciences to honor Tom and Julie Lutz.

WSU Vice President Chaudhry honored by university in Romania

Asif J. Chaudhry, vice president of WSU’s Office of International Programs and WSU Pullman vice chancellor, was recently awarded the title Doctor Honoris Causa of Ovidius University in Constanta, Romania.

Ji Yun Lee receives NSF CAREER award for community resilience research

The assistant professor in WSU’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering received the National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career award for her work helping communities better prepare for wildfires.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates