Five WSU faculty members honored as 2009 fellows by AAAS

WASHINGTON D.C. – Five members of the faculty of WSU have been awarded the distinction of fellow this year by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

The honor is bestowed in recognition of their individual efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. The full list of this year’s AAAS fellows will be published in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal “Science.”

The WSU faculty members honored this year are:

Mary Hunzicker-Dunn, WSU School of Molecular Biosciences, for distinguished contributions to ovarian biology and the mechanisms by which luteinizing and follicle stimulating hormones regulate follicular maturation and for national leadership in scientific societies and at the National Institutes of Health.

Kerry Wayne Hipps, WSU Department of Chemistry, for his pioneering and innovative work in tunneling spectroscopy and in STM-based orbital mediated tunneling through molecular systems.

Donald P. Knowles, WSU Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology, for distinguished contributions to the diagnosis and understanding of multiple important animal infectious diseases and for leadership of the Animal Disease Research Unit, acclaimed by the USDA.
Gary G. Meadows, WSU Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, for distinguished contributions in the fields of nutrition and cancer metastasis and alcohol immunotoxicology.
John H. Nilson, WSU School of Molecular Biosciences, for distinguished scientific contributions as Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Endocrinology, Endocrine Society Vice-President, Society for the Study of Reproduction President-Elect, and as Director of the School of Molecular Biosciences.
The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, “Science” ( as well as “Science Translational Medicine” ( and “Science Signaling” ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.
The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.
The council is the policymaking body of the association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

Next Story

Recent News