Length of service honored

Donald Matteson, left, will be recognized for 50 years of
service to WSU at the annual reception Dec. 10. Ronald
Brosemer, center, and Jack Rogers will be honored for 45
years of service. (Photo by Robert Hubner, WSU Photo
One WSU employee will be honored for 50 years of service and two others for 45 years at the annual Employee Recognition Reception Wednesday, Dec. 10, in the CUB ballroom. The reception begins at 3:30 p.m., followed by a short program at 4 p.m. to recognize nearly 600 employees who reached length-of-service milestones in 2008.
All employees are invited; RSVP and view the list of recipients ONLINE @ www.employee-recognition.wsu.edu.
As part of the length of service program, staff are eligible for awards at 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45 and 50 years of service. Faculty recognition begins at 25 years. At each milestone, employees receive a certificate of service, a lapel pin and an award selected by the employee.
The three longest-serving employees to be honored this year are:
Donald Matteson, professor of chemistry, who joined that department in 1958 as an instructor and attained the rank of professor in 1969.
He is best known for his seminal developments in the fields of boronic ester chemistry and asymmetric synthesis. As an example of the far-reaching impact of his research, his chemistry provides the key part of the new anticancer drug “Velcade,” which is in clinical use for treating multiple myeloma.
Ronald Brosemer, professor of molecular biosciences, who has taught and served at WSU since his arrival as an assistant professor in 1963. After a year as a Fulbright scholar in Germany, he became a full professor in 1972.
He was associate dean of the Graduate School 1975-77, associate dean of the College of Sciences 1984-99, acting director of the WWAMI program in 1999, and associate director of undergraduate programs for the School of Molecular Biosciences in 2004. He served as vice-chair, chair and past-chair of the Faculty Senate 2002-05.
Jack Rogers, professor of plant pathology, who came to WSU in 1963 as an assistant professor and assistant plant pathologist. He became a professor in 1986 and chaired the plant pathology department from that time until 1999.
His teaching and research have been recognized through many awards, including WSU’s Sahlin Faculty Excellence Award for Research, Scholarship and Arts in 1986, the national Wm. H. Weston Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1992 from the Mycological Society of America, and the WSU Eminent Faculty Award in 2006.

Next Story

Recent News

Brad Corbin named to NCAA Division I Council

The National Collegiate Athletic Association recently appointed Corbin, deputy director of athletics, to the council for a four‑year term.

New spring wheat variety named for pioneering Black family

Bush soft white spring wheat honors settler George Bush and his family who helped indigenous populations battle disease and saved fellow settlers during the 1852 famine.

Robotic gripper for automated apple picking developed

A robotic gripper developed by WSU researchers was able to successfully grab more than 87.5% of the apples in an orchard without damaging the fruit.

Celebrating Pride Month

WSU President Kirk Schulz shares a message of encouragement and support for national Pride Month.