Liberal Arts and Sciences announce new leaders

New leaders announced recently at the College of Liberal Arts include:
Paul Whitney, interim dean. He has been associate dean for research at the college for three years and was chair of psychology before that.
Cornell W. Clayton, director of the Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service. He is the Claudius O. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Political Science and has been on WSU faculty since 1992.
Laurilyn J. Harris, chair of theater and dance. She was named director of the theater program in 2001.
Thomas J. Whitacre, acting director of the general studies program. He has been associate director of the college’s general studies and advising center for three years.
Jeffrey A Bouffard, director of the criminal justice program. He has been graduate coordinator for the program.
Victor Villanueva, director of the American studies program. He has been director of composition, chair and associate dean of the English department. 
Linda Heidenreich, chair of women’s studies.
Joan Grenier-Winther, associate dean for recruitment, retention and DDP.  She will divide her time between Pullman and WSU Vancouver, where she is working with her husband, Douglas Winther, director of the Language Learning Center, to launch a new foreign languages and cultures department.
New leaders in sciences, too
New leaders in the College of Sciences include:
John Alderete, director for the Center for Integrated Biotechnology.
Steve Bollens, WSU Vancouver, director of the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Terry Hassold, director of the Center for Reproductive Biology.
Ari Ariyawansa, chair of the Department of Mathematics.
Kerry Hipps, chair of the Department of Chemistry.

Next Story

Regents start search process for next WSU president

The Board of Regents will begin the search process for WSU’s 12th president this week. Applications for the Presidential Search Advisory Committee are now available.

Recent News

Extension tackles climate awareness

WSU is weaving adaptation and mitigation into Extension programming as part of its long-held commitment to building resilient communities.