WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Bose, Eminent Faculty; emeritus award given

Bose to be honored as Eminent Faculty

Anjan Bose, Regents Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been named the winner of the annual Eminent Faculty Award, the highest honor the university bestows on a faculty member.
Nominees must have changed the thinking in their respective fields by making lasting contributions through teaching, research, creative scholarship and service. They must make notable contributions to the vitality and strength of the WSU community.
Bose has more than 40 years of experience in industry and academia as an engineer, educator and administrator. He is a technical leader in the power grid control industry, a researcher in electric power engineering, and an educator and higher education administrator.
He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and a foreign fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, from whom he has won many awards.
He is site director of the National Science Foundation-sponsored Power System Engineering Research Center at WSU. He was dean of the College of Engineering and Architecture 1998-2005, during which time the college doubled its annual research expenditures and donations.
Butcher earns emeritus award
Walter Butcher, professor emeritus in the School of Economic Sciences, has received the annual Emeritus Society Excellence Award for outstanding and continuing contributions to understanding economic development in underdeveloped countries.
On the WSU faculty from 1964-1997, Butcher remains active in advising graduate students and participating in environmental and international research project.
He specializes in the economics of natural resource development, conservation and policy analysis — especially relating to agriculture, water and electricity resources. He has had a number of short-term international assignments — to the Mideast, Africa, east Asia and the former Soviet Union — as consultant and adviser onagricultural development, planning and natural resource policy.

Next Story

Recent News

WSU ‘Q fever’ research earns $3 million in funding

Q fever naturally infects goats, sheep, and cattle. If transmitted to humans, the infection can lead to diverse clinical outcomes including flu-like symptoms, miscarriage or stillbirth in pregnant women.

UREC training helps Cougs rescue injured Grand Canyon hiker

The hiker looked like she might be taking a break from the strenuous ascent from the bottom of the Grand Canyon, but it was clear she was in trouble when WSU students Alana Duvall and Johannah Ludwig reached her.

WSU-led report backs nationwide wastewater-disease surveillance

A report, from a national committee chaired by WSU’s Guy Palmer, recommends investing in wastewater testing for infectious diseases across the country, as some organizations have done for COVID-19.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates