WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Faculty fill up and fraternize

Here are the researchers with office and collaborative lab space in the new Plant Biosciences Building. The names are grouped according to location in the building and shared disciplines.

Dennis Johnson, Rm. 107, professor, Plant Pathology, 335-3753, dajohn@wsu.edu. Research: Epidemiology and management of diseases of irrigated crops, and ecology of plant pathogens on natural vegetation. Disease resistance, disease forecasting, spatial patterns of diseased plants, disease etiology and disease management.

Joe Poovaiah, Rm. 118-122, professor, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, 335-2487, poovaiah@wsu.edu. Research: Calcium signaling in plants, plant growth and development, biotechnology.

Mechthild Tegeder, Rm. 119, assistant professor, School of Biological Sciences, 335-7545, tegeder@wsu.edu. Research: Identification, characterization and molecular genetic manipulation of key transport processes controlling partitioning of nutrients — e.g., amino acids and sugars — in plant organs.

Hannu Pappu, Rm. 123, associate professor and President Samuel H. Smith Endowed Chair in Plant Virology, Plant Pathology, 335-3752, hrp@wsu.edu. Research: Plant virology; identification and characterization of viruses; development of serological and molecular diagnostic tools; molecular epidemiology and application of biotechnological approaches for disease management.

Preston Andrews, Rm. 124, associate professor, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, 335-3603, andrewsp@wsu.edu. Research: Apple, sweet cherry reproductive biology. Environmental stress physiology. Sustainable production practices.

John Fellman, Rm. 129, professor/scientist, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, 335-3454, fellman@wsu.edu. Research: Fruit biochemistry; postharvest handling and storage.

John Bassman, Rm. 130, professor, Natural Resource Sciences, 335-5296, bassman@wsu.edu. Research: Forest tree ecophysiology and stress physiology, particularly photosynthetic physiology, carbon dynamics and water relations. Developing a better understanding of the physiological responses of Pacific Northwest tree species to environmental stress.

Rick Knowles, Rm. 133, scientist, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, 335-3451, rknowles@wsu.edu. Research: Characterizing the physiological and biochemical changes that lead to deterioration of post-harvest quality in fruit and vegetable crops.

Bruce Davitt, Rm 136, research technologist supervisor, Natural Resource Sciences, 335-2318, b_b_davitt@wsu.edu. Research: Supervises Wildlife Habitat Nutrition Laboratory, http://nrs.wsu.edu/Research/habitat-lab1.html.

Kim Kidwell, Rm. 207, associate professor, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-7247, kidwell@mail.wsu.edu. Research: Breeding, genetics and cultivar development of spring wheats.

Camille Steber, Rm. 218, research plant molecular geneticist, USDA-ARS Wheat Genetics, Quality, Physiology & Disease Research Unit, 335-2887, csteber@wsu.edu. Research: Gibberellin signal transduction. Agricultural traits of preharvest sprouting, seedling emergence and plant establishment.

Tobin Peever, Rm. 219, associate professor, Plant Pathology, 335-3754, tpeever@wsu.edu. Research: The molecular, population and evolutionary genetics of fungi and fungal systematics. The molecular genetics of fungal mating genes, fungal mating systems and the evolution of fungal reproductive strategies.

Kimberly Campbell, Rm. 222, research geneticist, Wheat Genetics, Quality, Physiology & Disease Research Unit, 335-0582, kgcamp@wsu.edu. Research: Club wheat breeding.

Kevin McPhee, Rm. 223, research geneticist, USDA-ARS, 335-9561, kmcphee@wsu.edu. Research: Molecular biology, cool-season grain legumes including genetic mapping, genomics and genetic transformation.

Daniel Z. Skinner, Rm. 224, research leader, USDA-ARS, Wheat Genetics, Quality, Physiology & Disease Research Unit, 335-3475, dzs@wsu.edu. Research: Enhancing wheat for use in nutritious, safe and cost-effective foods through the improvement of germplasm for grain quality characteristics, environmental stress tolerance and disease resistance.

Fred Muehlbauer, Rm. 227, research geneticist/research leader, USDA-ARS Grain Legume Genetics and Physiology Research Unit, 335-7647, muehlbau@wsu.edu. Research: Genetics and breeding of crop plants with emphasis on the cool-season food legumes, particularly lentil and chickpea.

Timothy Murray, Rm. 230, professor and chair, Plant Pathology, 335-4852, tim_murray@wsu.edu. Research: Plant pathology. Diseases of small cereal grain crops, especially wheat. Ecology, epidemiology and control of soilborne plant pathogens including cultural, chemical and disease resistance.

Xianming Chen, Rm. 233, research plant pathologist, USDA-ARS/Plant Pathology, 335-8086, xianming@wsu.edu. Research: Control of foliar diseases of cereal crops, especially rusts of wheat and barley.

Stephen Jones, Rm. 236, professor, Crop and Soil Science, 335-6198, joness@wsu.edu. Research: Breed improved winter wheat varieties. Use cytogenetic and molecular genetic techniques to identify and transfer genes of interest.

Andris Kleinhofs, Rm. 307-315, professor/scientist, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-4389, andyk@wsu.edu. Research: Barley, genetics, nitrate reductase, RFLP, regulation, mRNA, cloning, sequencing.

Diter von Wettstein, Rm. 318, professor/scientist and R.A.Nilan Distinguished Professor, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-3635, diter@wsu.edu. Research: Genetic transformation of immature zygotic embryos of barley with the aim of producing transgenic plants that express recombinant proteins in the developing endosperm.

Steve Ullrich, Rm. 323, professor, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-4936, ullrich@wsu.edu. Research: Barley breeding and genetics.

Tim Paulitz, Rm. 324, research plant pathologist, USDA-ARS Root Disease and Biological Control Research Unit, 335-7077, paulitz@wsu.edu. Research: Root diseases of cereals; soilborne pathogens; mycology.

Patrice (Pat) Okubara, Rm. 325, research geneticist, USDA-ARS Root Disease and Biological Control Research Unit, 335-7824, pokubara@wsu.edu. Research: Plant-microbe interactions with the focus on uncovering and understanding the action of plant genes that govern interactions with beneficial and pathogenic microbes.

Linda Thomashow, Rm. 329, research geneticist, USDA-ARS Root Disease and Biological Control Research Unit, 335-0930, thomasho@mail.wsu.edu. Research: Wheat root diseases, molecular biology and microbiology.

Dave Weller, Rm. 332, research plant pathologist, USDA-ARS Root Disease and Biological Control Research Unit, 335-6210, wellerd@mail.wsu.edu. Research: Biological control, influence of bacteria on take-all of wheat, cereal diseases, bacteriology.

Lynne Carpenter-Boggs, Rm. 333, instructor and research associate, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-1553, lcboggs@wsu.edu. Research: Compost and compost teas; organic and alternative agriculture; soil microbiology and molecular ecology.

Kulvinder Gill, Rm. 336, associate professor and Vogel Chair for Wheat Breeding and Genetics, Crop and Soil Sciences, 335-4666, ksgill@wsu.edu. Research: To understand the mechanism of agronomically important genes and manipulate these genes for crop improvement using genomics and informatics tools.

Next Story

Recent News

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates