Communications staff nabs 17 CASE awards

Members of Washington State University’s communications staff carried home numerous awards from a recent Council for the Advancement and Support of Education District VIII conference in Coeur d’Alene.

“These awards represent the excellent work of many people working hard to execute our integrated marketing strategy across the university,” said Sally Savage, vice president for University Relations. “It’s gratifying to see that their creative and strategic delivery of the university’s world class message has been rewarded by their peers in this very competitive business.”

“Washington State Magazine” took seven awards in the district competition, which included submittals from universities throughout the Pacific Northwest and Canada. In the periodicals category “Washington State Magazine” staff Tim Steury, Pat Caraher, George Bedirian and Jo Savage received a silver award for magazines with circulation of more than 20,000. Robert Hubner received a silver award in the Photo Series category for the Summer 2002 “Washington State Magazine,” including a Web photo gallery.

David Wheeler received a gold award in the design, illustration, and photography category for the “Washington State Magazine” article, “What’s in it for You?” In the Features & Articles in Magazines, Newsletters & Tabloids category, silver awards went to Steury for “Genetically Modified Foods, What’s In It for You?” and to Andrea Vogt for “Nurses to the Homeless.” A bronze award went to Bill Morelock for “A Titan’s Tale.”

A gold website award for student recruitment went to Jennifer Hay, David Hoyt, Rance Larsen, Nella Letizia, David Goehner, Anna Sherwood, Kurt Gyrtdal, Shelly Hanks, Bob Hubner, Doug Garcia, John Vleck, and John Sutherland for the “Washington State University Future Student Site.”

Barbara Chamberlain, WSU Spokane, received a bronze award in the news releases category for her release in “Health Sciences Research News.”

A silver award in the Public Relations Projects category went to the entire Marketing Communications staff for the Student Recruitment Marketing Campaign. Brian Bates, Ed Sala, Eric Limburg and Diana Whaley received a gold award for the Alumni Association Branding Project.

In video spots and public service announcements for films no longer than 60 seconds, a silver award went to Mary Gresch, Jesse Keene, Educational Marketing Group, Hamilton Studios and for “TV Spots: DNA, Jazz, Football.”

In videos for student recruitment, slide shows, and films longer than 60 seconds, Gary Lindsey and Hamilton Studios received a bronze for the “2002/2003 Recruitment Video.”

In videos for fund-raising and alumni relations, slide shows and films, Lindsey, and Hamilton Studios received a bronze for the “Seahawk Stadium Halftime Video.”

In awards for radio programs, Terry K. Maurer of WSU Tri-Cities won a bronze award for the program “University and College Report.”

A silver award for websites in publications/special purposes went to Nicole Wood, Bedirian, Carol Hill and Jo Savage for the “Washington State Magazine Web Site.”

Finally, a bronze website award went to Toby Beal, Sutherland, Vleck, Garcia, Hoyt, Wood and Hill for the “Graphic Identity Program Web Site.”

Next Story

The past is not that long ago

Washington State Magazine explores the complicated ties that continue to reverberate between the Pacific Northwest’s indigenous tribes and the first Jesuit priest to the region.

Recent News

Aging societies more vulnerable to collapse

Societies and political structures, like the humans they serve, appear to become more fragile as they age, according to an analysis of hundreds of pre-modern societies.

Insider will return Monday, Nov. 27

WSU Insider is taking a break to join with the rest of the university community in celebrating the Thanksgiving holiday. We’ll be back the morning of Nov. 27 with fresh posts and all the latest WSU information.

Charting a clear path forward for WSU Athletics

Statement from WSU President Kirk Schulz and Director of Athletics Pat Chun about today’s ruling affirming that the future of the Pac‑12 should be determined by the members who remain in the conference rather than those who are leaving.