Washington State University Tri-Cities has announced its 2020 Evening of Excellence, Student Leadership Award Winners. This year’s Evening of Excellence event couldn’t be celebrated in person, but we were still able to honor our students! Watch the full compilation video here: https://youtu.be/r1ltUm2C89I

Chancellor’s Student Leader of the Year: Evan Foraker

This award recognizes a student leader who has demonstrated excellence in campus and community engagement, as well as excellence in academic growth and achievement and has contributed to the WSU Tri-Cities community through their leadership and participation in campus programs, organizations, and activities.

Cougar Image Award: Steffany Sanchez and Jose Mejia

This award recognizes student leaders who embody the WSU Cougar Spirit. These students promote spirit on campus and consistently support student programs through participation. These students have gone above and beyond the call of duty to improve the quality of student life at WSU Tri-Cities.

Crimson Spotlight: Sauri Garcia

This award shines a Crimson Spotlight on a student leader that isn’t always recognized for their amazing contributions to their club/organization and/or campus community. This student works hard behind the scenes and inspires individuals to become better leaders and by doing so has made our campus a more inclusive environment.

Student Employee of the Year: Ashley Finnestad

The student employee of the year award goes to a student worker who has gone above and beyond the call of duty for their on-campus job. Nominees must have at least a 2.0 GPA and demonstrates outstanding work ethic, professionalism, and exhibits high quality of work.

Student Club of the Year: Dreamer’s Club

Student clubs at WSU Tri-Cities make great contributions to the campus environment. They connect students through social, academic, professional, cultural and special interest outlets. They also provide leadership opportunities and hands-on experience for their members. The Student Club of the Year recognizes a student club for their contribution to campus and to their members.

Leaders in Action Award: Coding Cougs

This award recognizes an organization that has placed a strong emphasis on leadership development and transformational student involvement beyond the classroom.

Club Event/Program of the Year: Beeswax Wraps – Environmental Club

This award recognizes an event/program for students, coordinated by a student club that has impacted the campus community and/or engaged students in a positive manner.

Student Club Advisor of the Year: Gloria Van Egdom – Dreamers Club

This award recognizes a faculty or staff member currently serving as a club advisor who has been a visible and integral part to the success of the student club by providing continuous support, empowering students to take initiative, and contributing to the growth and development of individual students in the organization.