Faculty, staff and students are invited to help select the 19th recipient in university history of a WSU honorary doctoral degree.

The awardee will join journalist Edward R. Murrow, Pulitzer Prize‑winning poet Carolyn Kizer and former Spelman College president and WSU faculty member Johnnetta Cole among the ranks of WSU honorary doctorate recipients. The university plans to honor the new recipient at the fall 2019 commencement on the Pullman campus.

Nominations should be submitted online by March 25. The Honorary Doctoral Degrees Committee will review the nominating materials and forward its recommendations to WSU President Kirk Schulz and the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

Nominees should be individuals who have made profound and enduring contributions to scholarship, culture, and an improved quality of life for society at large. They should also be individuals of great integrity who reflect WSU’s values.

See the complete list of WSU’s past honorary doctoral degree recipients.