Three WSU faculty have earned promotions in 2005 to Regents Professor, which recognizes sustained accomplishment in teaching, scholarship and public service. They are:

LeRoy Ashby, Claudius O. and Mary Johnson Distinguished Professor of History, who has contributed more than 30 years of service to WSU.

Yogendra Gupta, professor of physics and director of the Institute for Shock Physics, who joined WSU faculty in 1981.

Brian Lamb, Boeing Distinguished Professor of Environmental Engineering in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, who has been on WSU faculty since 1979.

They will be honored with other faculty and staff award recipients at WSU’s Celebrating Excellence recognition banquet on April 1. More information about the banquet, reservations and other April 1 Showcase events can be found at

Look for feature articles and photos showcasing all the 2005 award winners in the March 25 issue of WSU Today.

Anyone considered for promotion to Regents Professor must be a tenured full professor or equivalent. Candidates must have served WSU for the last seven years; achieved the highest level of distinction in a discipline; raised the standards of the university through activities in teaching, scholarship and public service; and sustained a level of accomplishment receiving national or international recognition.

The selection committee is comprised of seven tenured faculty members, four selected by the Faculty Senate and three appointed by the president from a list of candidates referred to him by the college deans. Committee members are selected on the basis of scholarly achievement and demonstrated dedication to teaching and service, as well as individual judgment and integrity.

The number of promotions is limited to three annually, with the number of active Regents Professors not to exceed 30. For a list of the other Regents Professors, please see