Six WSU faculty named new members of Washington State Academy of Sciences

Professors Santanu Bose, Amanda Boyd, Nairanjana Dasgupta, Mary Paine, Tahira Probst, and Mechthild Tegeder have been elected new members to the Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS).

They are part of the 29-member class of 2023 inductees who join the nonprofit organization with a mission to bring the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.

“WSAS is proud to elevate these exceptional individuals for the many ways in which they have advanced scientific and engineering excellence,” said John Roll, WSAS president and WSU professor and vice dean of research at the Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine. “We look forward to engaging them in addressing complex societal challenges not only for the benefit of the citizens of Washington state but for all citizens of the world.”

Three WSU faculty were also recently named to leadership positions with the Academy.

The new members will be inducted at the annual members meeting in Spokane on Sept. 13.

Closeup of Santanu Bose.

Santanu Bose

Professor, Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology

For contributions in the field of virology including advances in our understanding of host-viral pathogenesis, antiviral pathways and immunopathogenic responses to viral infections.

Amanda Boyd

Associate Professor, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine
Co-Director, Institute for Research and Education to Advance Community Health

For contributions to our understanding of environmental health risk communication to Indigenous and rural populations and advancing diversity in clinical trials.

Closeup of Nairanjana “Jan” Dasgupta

Nairanjana Dasgupta

Boeing Science/Math Education Distinguished Professor in Mathematics and Statistics

For contributions to the field of statistics and her dedication to diversifying science.

Mary Paine portrait

Mary Paine

Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

For contributions to the field of drug metabolism and disposition — including advancing our understanding and quantitative prediction of natural product-drug and drug-drug interactions — which have shaped practices of currently used drug development processes.

Tahira Probst

Professor, Psychology

For pioneering research on the effects of precarious work (including job insecurity, unemployment, underemployment episodes, and financial stress) on worker health, well-being, safety, and performance, and advancing understanding of the impact of organizational, state, and national policies on those relationships.

Mechthild Tegeder

Professor, Plant Biology

For outstanding contributions to the field of plant science in the areas of plant nitrogen partitioning and transporter function in plants.

Next Story

Recent News

Desire to improve food safety leads Afghan student to WSU

Barakatullah Mohammadi saw firsthand the effects of food borne illnesses growing up in Afghanistan. Now a WSU graduate student, he will receive a prestigious national food and agriculture research fellowship.

Elk hoof disease likely causes systemic changes

Elk treponeme-associated hoof disease, previously thought to be limited to deformations in elks’ hooves, appears to create molecular changes throughout the animal’s system, according to WSU epigenetic research.

College of Education professor receives Fulbright award

Margaret Vaughn will spend three weeks in Vienna, Austria where she will work with a research team discussing student agency and the role of adaptability in classroom learning environments.