WSU graduate student wins Science Coalition student video challenge

Washington State University student Molly McIlquham took first place in the graduate student category of The Science Coalition’s third-annual Fund It Forward Student Video Challenge. 

Graduate and undergraduate students currently enrolled at Science Coalition member institutions were asked to create a video explaining their personal connection to fundamental research and why Congress should continue to invest in the partnership between federal research agencies and their university counterparts. 

McIlquham, a soil sciences graduate student at the Northwestern Washington Research and Extension Center, and Laura Kapolka of the University of Michigan were awarded first place in the graduate and undergraduate categories, respectively. WSU’s Melissa Pearcy also received an honorable mention for her video. All of the winning videos can be viewed on The Science Coalition’s website

“I am pleased to congratulate Washington State University students Molly McIlquham and Melissa Pearcy for their first place and honorable mention video submissions in this year’s The Science Coalition’s Fund It Forward Student Video Challenge. Their outstanding videos showcase the research, scholarship, and creative activity that is essential to the WSU land-grant mission,” said Christopher Keane, vice president for research for WSU and vice chancellor for research at WSU Pullman. “With a statewide presence, WSU provides the next generation of researchers with hands-on, real-world experience essential to the innovation pipeline that translates fundamental research advances to achievements that benefit the lives of Americans every day. The video challenge showcases vital research from WSU students and universities across that nation that highlight the importance and critical need of federal investment in science. Congratulations to all of the winners and participants of this year’s challenge.”

“This year’s field of entrants to the Fund It Forward Student Video Challenge was our most competitive ever, demonstrating the broad enthusiasm for continued federal investment in the research enterprise from the next generation of STEM talent,” said TSC President John Latini. “It is critical members of Congress hear directly from them about the need for robust, consistent funding to propel U.S. science forward, especially as Congress has yet to pass a final appropriations package for fiscal year 2022. Without predictable funding, the research these future scientists and innovators are building their careers on is at risk, and we cannot afford to lose that potential. I want to thank and congratulate all the students who entered for their compelling stories and proving why Congress must fund science forward.”

The full list of winners are as follows:


  • 1st Place – Molly McIlquham, Washington State University
  • 2nd Place – Maria Isabel da Silva, The Pennsylvania State University
  • 3rd Place – Adam Knier, Marquette University


  • 1st Place – Laura Kapolka, University of Michigan
  • 2nd Place – Alonso Cruz, University of Oregon
  • 3rd Place – Logan Coomes and team, The Pennsylvania State University

People’s Choice

  • Winner – Logan Coomes and team, The Pennsylvania State University 

Honorable Mentions

  • Annika Dechert, University of Oregon
  • Melissa Pearcy, Washington State University

Next Story

Recent News

Voiland College names 2024 outstanding students

WSU Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture recognized outstanding students at its annual convocation ceremony on April 11.

Regents start search process for next WSU president

The Board of Regents will begin the search process for WSU’s 12th president this week. Applications for the Presidential Search Advisory Committee are now available.

Extension tackles climate awareness

WSU is weaving adaptation and mitigation into Extension programming as part of its long-held commitment to building resilient communities.