WSU President’s Teaching Academy welcomes 27 new members

Radha Nandagopal convening with students around a table
Radha Nandagopal, a new member of the President's Teaching Academy, speaks to students around a table.

Twenty-seven faculty members from six colleges and 17 departments are the newest members of the President’s Teaching Academy at Washington State University, nearly doubling the membership in the institution’s premier organization dedicated to teaching excellence, said Clif Stratton, chair.

“They include tenured, tenure-track, and career-track faculty with at least three years of teaching experience at our university, and they are all committed to delivering outstanding teaching experiences to our students and advancing the practice of great teaching,” Stratton said.

Recruitment chair Cassandra Gulam said, “New members bring a wide diversity of disciplines and experiences to the academy, as well as new energy. We’re excited to welcome them.”

Business at hand

“With the addition of the new members, the organization can continue to promote professional development related to teaching, and is in a really good position to drive forward all kinds of initiatives articulated in the past few years by the provost, the faculty senate, and the academy itself,” said Stratton.

Such initiatives could include workshops facilitated by Academic Outreach and Innovation (AOI), graduate student workshops, advocacy on behalf of career-track faculty, and advancing teaching pedagogy, he said.

Gulam said that another service the Academy plans to offer is voluntary classroom observations, both within and across disciplines, with the purpose of offering formative feedback to interested faculty.

Stratton noted that new members are eligible to be nominated for upcoming officer and committee appointments in Fall 2020.

New members

The application and nomination period for new members opened mid-winter. A review committee used a rubric to twice evaluate each applicant.  Those invited to join the academy were notified in mid-April.

New members of the President’s Teaching Academy, listed in alphabetical order by last name with their department and campus (if not Pullman), are:

  • Katherine Banks, politics, philosophy, and public affairs, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Stephanie Bauman, psychology, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Ashley Boyd, English
  • Vanessa Cozza, English, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Kathleen Cowin, educational leadership and sport management, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Erica Crespi, biological sciences
  • David Crowder, entomology
  • Chris Dickey, music
  • Allan Felsot, entomology and environment, WSU Tri-Cities
  • William Hall, mathematics and statistics
  • Emily Harmon, international programs
  • Amy Heile, English
  • Theresa Jordan, history
  • Anne Kim, pharmacotherapy, WSU Spokane
  • Julie Kmec, sociology
  • Bala Krishnamoorthy, mathematics and statistics, WSU Vancouver
  • Phillip Morgan, kinesiology and educational psychology
  • Radha Nandagopal, medical education and clinical science, WSU Spokane
  • Lori Nelson, biology, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Jeb Owen, entomology
  • Janet Peters, psychology, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Adam Phillips, civil and environmental engineering
  • Connie Remsberg, pharmaceutical science, WSU Spokane
  • Matt Sutton, history
  • Aaron Whelchel, history, WSU Vancouver
  • Sarah Whitley, sociology
  • Kara Whitman, environment

Visit the academy’s website for more information on the President’s Teaching Academy and to access the searchable member directory.

Next Story

Smithsonian National Zoo nutritionist to deliver Halver Lecture Feb. 27

Mike Maslanka solves diet-related riddles in a world of exotic and threatened species. He will reflect on some of his greatest challenges and successes at the annual Halver Lecture in Comparative Nutrition, 5 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 27 in Pullman.

Recent News

AI research supports health equity in rural Washington

WSU sociologist Anna Zamora-Kapoor is studying how artificial intelligence and machine learning could help improve cancer survival outcomes among the Pacific Northwest’s rural Hispanic population.

Sustainability Task Force seeking community ideas

The new task force was formed as part of a broader effort to ensure the university is at the forefront of environmentally-conscious efforts in higher education.

Grant supports research on cross-laminated timber

WSU researchers have received a two‑year grant to make more resilient and durable housing materials from cross-laminated timber and recycled carbon fiber.