Business takes homeCougar Golf Classic

The College of Business has announced the winners of the 2008 Cougar Golf Classic – held  Friday, May 9, at the Langdon Farms Golf Club in Aurora, Ore.

The first place foursome players, with a score of 60, were Frank Gaffrey, Russ Morris, Steve Morris, and Chris Tjersland. There was a tie for second place to foursome Erik Guttormsen, Todd Hooper, George Nikoric, and David Whidbee and a second team with players Ed Ketel, Mike Kjer, Sky Smick, and Sam Vilhauer. The second place teams finished with a score of 61.
Other awards were as follows: Tim Brackney, Men’s Closest to the Pin #13; Amy Giustino, Women’s Closest to the Pin #3 and Women’s Longest Drive #1; Jake Hammer, Men’s Longest Drive #7; Mike Kjer, Men’s Closest to the Pin #6; Terence Laws, Men’s Longest Drive #12; and Carolyn Wolfe, Women’s Longest Drive #18.
“It was a great event with Cougar alumni and friends coming out to play with the College of Business in our second annual event, we are excited about the strong turnout on one of the finest public courses in the Northwest,” says CB Dean Eric Spangenberg.
Funds from the golf tournament will support student, faculty, and program excellence within the college.
For more information, visit the college’s Web site at  

Next Story

Recent News

WSU crop sciences graduate receives fellowship a second time

After receiving the D.W. Steiger Family Graduate Fellowship in 2023, WSU PhD student Olufunke Ayegbidun was especially grateful to receive it another time in 2024.