The university community is invited to officially welcome and meet the newest members of the senior leadership team at WSU.

The second annual Crimson Coat ceremony is set for 4 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 13 on the second floor level inside Martin Stadium. Refreshments will be served.

President Kirk Schulz will introduce six individuals named to leadership posts at WSU in the past 12 months. He will present a crimson-colored sports coat to each during the ceremony.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Lisa Calvert

    Vice President for Advancement and CEO of the WSU Foundation
    Calvert joined the university Oct. 25. She served previously as the vice chancellor for institutional advancement and chief operating officer of the foundation board for the Texas Tech University System. She oversees the WSU Foundation and all development efforts statewide, as well as the WSU Alumni Association.

  • Pat Chun

    Director of Athletics
    Chun assumed his duties on Feb. 5. He brings more than 20 years of experience as a successful administrator of intercollegiate athletics programs at Florida Atlantic University and The Ohio State University to WSU.

  • Sandra Haynes

    Chancellor of WSU Tri-Cities
    Prior to joining WSU on March 1, Haynes was the deputy provost and vice president of academic affairs and a professor in the Department of Human Services at Metropolitan State University of Denver.

  • Matthew Jockers

    Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
    The newest member of senior team, Jockers began his duties at WSU on Aug. 1. He joined WSU from the University of Nebraska, where he served as a professor of English and associate dean for research and partnerships in the College of Arts and Sciences.

  • Bruce Pinkleton

    Dean of the Murrow College of Communication
    No stranger to WSU, Pinkleton joined the Murrow College in 1993 as an assistant professor. He had served as interim dean since January 2016 and previously was Murrow’s graduate director and associate dean.

  • André-Denis Girard Wright

    Dean of the College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences
    The new dean joined WSU from the University of Arizona, where he directed the School of Animal and Comparative Biomedical Sciences.

The president and First Lady Noel Schulz inaugurated the Crimson Coat ceremony last fall to publicly recognize the critical role WSU’s leaders play at the university, particularly in leading the efforts for WSU to become a top 25 public research university by 2030.

“Our new leaders will play major roles in shaping the university’s future,” President Schulz said. “It’s a delight to welcome such talented individuals to WSU.”

The new leaders join five individuals who were the inaugural recipients of Crimson coats last fall.

Last year’s recipients:

  • Daryll DeWald

    Chancellor of WSU Spokane

  • Mary Jo Gonzales

    Vice President of Student Affairs

  • Stacy Pearson

    Vice President for Finance and Administration

  • Mary Rezac

    Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

  • Phil Weiler

    Vice President for Marketing and Communications