Portraits of the three most recent past presidents have joined those of earlier WSU chief executives on display across campus.
Private funds paid for the paintings of V. Lane Rawlins and Samuel H. Smith. The portrait of Glenn Terrell was donated by Glenn and Gail Terrell.
 Portraits of other past presidents, and their locations, include: E. A. Bryan, Bryan Hall; Ernest O. Holland, Holland Library; Wilson Compton, Compton Union Building; and C. Clement French, French Administration Building. There are no portraits of George Lilley and John E. Heston, who each served brief tenures just after the university’s founding.
For more about WSU’s past presidents, see their biographies ONLINE @ http://president.wsu.edu/office/university-governance/past-presidents.
V. Lane Rawlins, 2000-2007, second floor of Lighty Student Services Building, inside the Wilson Road entrance. (Photo provided by artist Jamie Lee McMahan)
Samuel H. Smith, 1985-2000, formal main entry of Smith Center for Undergraduate Education, second floor west side entrance. (Photo provided by artist Jamie Lee McMahan)
Glenn Terrell, 1967-1985, upper rotunda of Terrell Library. Artist Slayton Underhill. (Photo by Robert Hubner, WSU Photo Services)