The annual Women of Distinction and Woman of the Year awards will be presented at a sold-out luncheon at noon Wednesday, April 16, in Beasley coliseum.

The awards recognize women for their accomplishments and contributions to society and the lives of other women.

The process is coordinated by the President’s Commission on the Status of Women at WSU. For information on previous recipients, visit

The Woman of the Year will be announced at the luncheon. This year’s Women of Distinction winners are:
• Alumni, Felicia Gaskins, associate vice president for equity and diversity, for 30 years of advancing the ideals and work of equity and diversity at WSU.
• Student, Xyanthe Neider, Ph.D. candidate, educational leadership and counseling psychology, for her leadership and commitment to creating a positive environment for student participation, cultural studies and the advancement of women.
• Faculty, Susan Armitage, Claudius O and Mary R. Johnson Distinguished Professor of History, departments of history and of women’s studies, for her career of promoting new and innovative approaches to the study of the history of women in the American West and mentoring generations of students and colleagues in the process.
• Faculty, Judy Meuth, clinical associate professor, women’s studies, for her efforts to promote gender equity and cultural inclusion, inspiring hundreds of girls and women to pursue careers in science and technology.
• Staff, Jill Griffin, assistant director, Center for Reproductive Biology/Center for Integrated Biotechnology, for using her background in sociology, focusing on gender interactions and organizational theory, to guide and inform her vision for positive social change at WSU an in the community through multiple organizations and partnerships.

• Outside WSU, Ardith De Raad, principal assistant, WSU Puyallup Research & Extension Center, for her community leadership in many areas and in particular the advancement of women through her work in the area of domestic violence.