PULLMAN, Wash. — Two faculty members from Washington State University’s College of Veterinary Medicine received recognition from the Washington State Veterinary Medical Association this fall for their contributions to veterinary medicine.

Harmon A. Rogers, professor and director of WSU’s Veterinary Teaching Hospital, was named Veterinarian of the Year by WSVMA. Recipients must show remarkable achievement in professional service, community service and other fields other than veterinary medicine.

Rogers is well-known nationally among his peers. He is a diplomat of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, past president of the WSVMA and a former member of the Washington State Veterinary Board of Governors. Rogers has served six years on the American Veterinary Medical Association’s executive board.

Erik H. Stauber, a professor of Small Animal Medicine, was named the 2002 Washington State University Faculty Member of the Year by WSVMA. The annual award is given to an association member in recognition of outstanding service to society and the veterinary profession as a WSU faculty member.

Stauber is known internationally and throughout the Pacific Northwest for his devotion to zoological medicine, especially birds of prey. He has trained some 2,500 veterinary students during his career as head of WSU’s Zoological Animal Services and single-handedly developed the region’s most definitive wildlife and raptor care facility.

The WSVMA recognizes a WSU faculty member of the year in order to foster a stronger bond between the practicing veterinarians in Washington and WSU, one of the nation’s premier veterinary colleges.