Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Fedale receives ADEC’s Irving Award
May 4, 2005

Scott V. Fedale, chair of the information department of Washington State University’s College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences, received the 2005 Irving Award at the annual meeting of the American Distance Education Consortium in New Orleans on April 27. The Irving Award is the organization’s highest honor. The award is named for Irvin Omtvedt, ADEC’s first board chair.ADEC is a non-profit distance education consortium of 65 state university and land-grant colleges. ADEC promotes high quality, economical distance education programs and services to diverse audiences by land-grant colleges and universities.Fedale has been active in ADEC for 15 years. He was a member of the … » More …

2004 Women of Distinction honored at annual luncheon
March 26, 2004

Five women were honored for their personal accomplishments and contributions to society and women’s lives at WSU’s annual Women’s Recognition Luncheon March 25. Marta Maria Maldonado, Beverly B. McConnell, Mary Sanchez-Lanier and Patricia Martin Whitefoot were named 2004 Women of Distinction, while Wilhelmina O. Sarai-Clark was named the 2004 Woman of the Year.To be considered, nominees must be women distinguished in academic work, career, leadership, public service or any combination thereof. They must have contributed to the personal growth and success of others, especially through education, research and public or volunteer service. Women of Distinction are chosen in four categories: alumna, employee, student and outside … » More …

Tri-Cities honors founding dean
December 9, 2003

A reception honoring James A. Cochran, founding dean of the Tri-Cities campus, will be held 5-7 p.m. Friday, December 12, in the Consolidated Information Center, Room 120, on the Tri-Cities campus. Letters, photos and other memorabilia are welcome for a memory book to honor Cochran’s 25 years of service to WSU, and 10 years as dean of WSU Tri-Cities.

Spokane honors staff for excellence
October 7, 2003

In recognition of their contributions to campus and community, two employees have received the WSU Spokane Staff Excellence Award for the 2002-03 academic year. The annual award recognizes classified and administrative professional staff members.Doug Stephens, office assistant for the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences, received the award for classified staff. Kiley Schenk, academic coordinator for the Department of Health Policy and Administration, received the administrative professional award. This is the third consecutive year Stephens was nominated for the Staff Excellence Award, this time by more than 20 faculty, staff and students at WSU Spokane. “No problem is too large, and more importantly too small, … » More …

Trio of journalists to honor slain newsman Daniel Pearl
April 3, 2003

The life and career of slain “Wall Street Journal” reporter Daniel Pearl will be honored at the April 16 Edward R. Murrow Symposium at Washington State University. Pearl, the newspaper’s South Asia bureau chief, was kidnapped and murdered in Karachi, Pakistan, last year while working on a story related to terrorism.”Daniel Pearl’s career and ultimate sacrifice exemplify the highest ideals of journalism,” said Alex Tan, director of the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication at WSU. “The faculty of the school thought it especially fitting to make the award posthumous this year to honor Pearl, not only for his journalistic achievements but for his efforts … » More …

Women of distinction to be honored
March 21, 2003

Six women — all unique, all touching the lives of those around them. The 2003 Women of Distinction Award winners will be honored at the Women’s Recognition Luncheon on March 27. All are eligible to receive the Woman of the Year Award.The winners are:Laurie Carlson, doctoral student in historyChio Flores, associate director of financial aid and scholarship servicesLinda Moore, coach of the Pullman School District math teamsMadelsar Ngiraingas, student in Women’s StudiesMarcia Saneholtz, senior associate athletic director for WSUMary Watrous-Schlesinger, WSU alumna and assistant professor of historyEach woman was considered based on academic work, career, leadership and public service. Also, the women had to contribute … » More …

Gene Sharratt, retired Wenatchee educator, honored
March 18, 2003

Gene Sharratt, retired superintendent of the North Central Educational Service District (NCESD) in Wenatchee, received Washington State University’s Alumni Achievement Award March 14 in Wenatchee at a gathering of WSU alumni and friends. He was recognized as “an educator who cares about others and does something positive to help the personal conditions of children.” After earning a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from WSU in 1972, he taught at most grade levels in Alaska and Washington, and at the International School in Stavanger, Norway. He completed a Ph.D. in education at WSU in 1983, and was elementary school principal in Naches, assistant superintendent in Yelm, … » More …

Yasinitsky named state Composer of the Year
November 22, 2002

Greg Yasinitsky, a Washington State University music professor, was named Washington State Composer of the Year by the Washington State Music Teachers Association.The award includes a commission for a new work to be premiered at the association’s conference in June 2003. Yasinitsky was also selected by the association as Washington’s candidate for consideration for the Music Teachers National Association’s Shepard Distinguished Composer of the Year.Yasinitsky recently completed “First Flight,” a two-movement work commissioned by the U. S. Air Force Band of the Golden West in commemoration of the Wright Brothers. In October, the band performed First Flight on tour throughout Northern California and, in early … » More …

Among the Best in U.S. News and World Report Rankings
September 20, 2002

Washington State University again has been recognized as one of the best national universities, according to rankings just released by U.S. News and World Report.WSU was recognized in the second tier of rankings of national universities with doctoral programs. Joining WSU in this tier are George Washington University, Michigan State University, Ohio State University and the University of Arizona. The rankings are broken down into four tiers.WSU ranked competitively among many of the first tier universities in specific categories. Only 17 of the top 50 universities have a higher percentage of full-time faculty and just 14 of those schools have a higher percentage of classes … » More …

WSU honors science alumni
September 9, 2002

Washington State University honored two of its most prestigious, internationally recognized science alumni Sept. 6 when it renamed Science Hall for Philip Abelson and the late Neva Abelson, long-time WSU supporters. Leon J. Radziemski, dean emeritus of the College of Sciences, presided over the public ceremony.The idea to rename the science building “Abelson Hall” received “hearty approval” from the Board of Regents, said WSU President V. Lane Rawlins. But he was clear as to who should feel privileged.“We are the ones to feel honored,” the president said to Philip Abelson, who attended the event. “It’s an honor that you would accept a … » More …