March 23 deadline for nominations to faculty status panel

PULLMAN, Wash. – Nominations to serve on the Faculty Status Committee (FSC) will be accepted by committee members Craig Parks and Brian French through Monday, March 23.

The FSC is an independent, investigative committee elected by Washington State University faculty to hear appeals of non-reappointment, denial of tenure or deferral of promotion. The committee can also be asked to hear and investigate other appeals as outlined in the faculty manual.

Committee members serve staggered three-year terms and are not eligible to serve two consecutive terms. To submit a name for election, email or by March 23. The new term will start Aug. 16.

FSC investigations are confidential and results are released only to the appellant and the president of the university. The FSC has 90 days to conclude an investigation after a formal appeal has been filed.

The committee received seven appeals for denial of tenure and promotion (T&P), one appeal for deferral of promotion and one appeal of a change in faculty appointment in spring 2014. Appeals were received from three colleges on two campuses. Investigations were completed by early June and reports were forwarded to the appellants and president.

The FSC has received no appeals concerning non-reappointment of tenure-track junior faculty (third-year review) from spring 2014.

The faculty manual states that appeals must be evaluated on the basis of substantial procedural irregularity, inadequate consideration and/or violation of academic freedom.

Committee members and the years their terms end are: Stergios Fotopoulous, co-chair (2015); Julie Ann Wieck, co-chair (2016); Craig Parks (2015); Rob Quinlan (2015); Janet Katz (2016); Katrina Mealey (2016); Brian French (2017); Jolie Kaytes (2017); and Robby Rosenman (2017).


Next Story

Recent News

Desire to improve food safety leads Afghan student to WSU

Barakatullah Mohammadi saw firsthand the effects of food borne illnesses growing up in Afghanistan. Now a WSU graduate student, he will receive a prestigious national food and agriculture research fellowship.

Elk hoof disease likely causes systemic changes

Elk treponeme-associated hoof disease, previously thought to be limited to deformations in elks’ hooves, appears to create molecular changes throughout the animal’s system, according to WSU epigenetic research.

College of Education professor receives Fulbright award

Margaret Vaughn will spend three weeks in Vienna, Austria where she will work with a research team discussing student agency and the role of adaptability in classroom learning environments.