Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Ashby receives WSU’s President’s Award
April 7, 2008

PULLMAN – LeRoy Ashby, the Claudius O. and Mary Johnson Distinguished Professor of History and a Regents professor, received the WSU President’s Award for Lifetime Service Friday, March 28, during the WSU 2008 Showcase banquet.

Ashby’s undergraduate classes on 20th century American history have been among the most popular electives on campus for the past 30 years. The enthusiasm of his undergraduate students is exceeded only by the appreciation of his many graduate students.

The award was presented by President Elson S. Floyd and was a surprise for Ashby, who did not know he had been nominated for the award.

“I was indeed surprised — … » More …

McGuire honored for service; award named for Rawlins
March 26, 2007

Travis McGuire, professor in the department of veterinary microbiology and pathology, was awarded WSU’s President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service at the Showcase celebration Friday.The award, which is kept secret and not necessarily bestowed annually, was announced by WSU President V. Lane Rawlins. According to Rawlins, McGuire “has created a legacy of thriving programs and talented individuals and colleagues who are carrying on his passion and his vision at WSU and beyond.”In another surprise announcement, at the end of the evening the President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service Award was renamed the V. Lane Rawlins’ Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service in recognition of President Rawlins’ … » More …

Cook’s commitment lauded
April 8, 2005

A special award, the President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service, was bestowed at the April 1 Showcase celebration banquet on R. James Cook, interim dean of the College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences.In making the presentation, WSU President V. Lane Rawlins described Cook’s career as “one of superlatives.” Rawlins cited Cook’s authorship of more than 200 scientific articles and three books, as well as his membership in the National Academy of Sciences, the USDA-ARS Hall of Fame and other scholarly associations.Cook came to WSU in 1965 as a plant pathologist with the USDA-ARS center located at the university. In 2003, at Rawlins’ request, … » More …