WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

WSU professor joins social insurance advisory group

By Lorraine Nelson, WSU Spokane

SPOKANE, Wash. – Jae Kennedy, a professor of health policy and administration at Washington State University Spokane, has accepted membership into the National Academy of Social Insurance. It contributes research and expertise to the policymaking process for Social Security, Medicare, unemployment insurance, disability insurance, worker’s compensation and other social insurance programs.

“I have spent my entire career working in the disability policy arena and am very honored to be recognized for my research and advocacy efforts,” Kennedy said. “Particularly as Congress considers major changes to our social insurance systems, it is important to have objective, nonpartisan and scientific analyses available to policymakers.”

The 30-year-old academy is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization whose membership is made up of more than 900 volunteer experts on social insurance. Based in Washington, D.C., affiliations include universities, think tanks, business, labor, legislative and executive branches of government and interest groups.

Kennedy is one of 59 experts invited this year to join the academy; read its news release at


News media contact:
Jae Kennedy, WSU health policy & administration, 509-368-6971,


Next Story

Recent News

How does COVID‑19 affect our household pets?

As the COVID‑19 omicron variant continues to spread, some pet owners may be wondering how the virus will affect their favorite furry friend. The fictional feline Dr. Universe discusses the topic in this recent piece.

Murdock grant funds digital infrastructure

A research team has received an MJ Murdock Charitable Trust grant to develop a market-ready wireless receiver for data communications systems.

Hentges to chair WSU’s neuroscience program

Shane Hentges has been a professor for the past 14 years at Colorado State University. She takes over for Steve Simasko, who has chaired the program since 2008.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates