WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Murrow College students recognized by journalism association

By Darin Watkins, The Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

SPOKANE, Wash. – The Eastern Washington Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) has awarded Mark of Excellence awards to 12 students from The Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University for their work in this year’s Region 10 competition.

Region 10 covers Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington. Students will be recognized at the regional conference in April. Winners will advance to the national competition.

Last year, Murrow students earned four awards that advanced to national SPJ competition.

Video awards:
Herman Meier and Tony Black for “Murrow News 8” of Dec. 5, 2014
Brenna Kelly for “Backyard railroad” and “Wine Science Center”
Timbo Pham for “Seasonal allergies”
Kyle Sherman for “Colfax accident”
Stevee Chapman for “Saving San Cristóbal”
Tesia Lingenfelter for “WSU mudslide recovery”

Print and online awards:
Gavin Porter and Melinda Lee for “WSU football player makes a tough decision”
Alexandra Graff for “North Idaho artist gains national renown”
Connor King Devitt for “Washington marijuana entrepreneurs”
Michael-Shawn Dugar for “WSU’s Ken Bone”


Kanale Rhoden, WSU Murrow College, 509-335-2390,
Ben Shors, WSU Murrow College, 509-335-1547,
Lucrezia Cuen Paxson, WSU Murrow College, 509-335-8857,
Darin Watkins, WSU Murrow College communications, 509-335-4456,


Next Story

Recent News

WSU Athletics addresses $11.5 million budget deficit

The shortfall is from a combination of unexpected decreases in Pac‑12 Conference revenue distributions, other revenue sources falling short of projection, and operating costs that exceeded the approved budget.

Former astronomy professor leaves $1 million for WSU

The generous gift establishes a distinguished professorship, a teaching excellence award, and a science and mathematics scholarship in the College of Arts and Sciences to honor Tom and Julie Lutz.

WSU Vice President Chaudhry honored by university in Romania

Asif J. Chaudhry, vice president of WSU’s Office of International Programs and WSU Pullman vice chancellor, was recently awarded the title Doctor Honoris Causa of Ovidius University in Constanta, Romania.

Ji Yun Lee receives NSF CAREER award for community resilience research

The assistant professor in WSU’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering received the National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career award for her work helping communities better prepare for wildfires.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates