Graduate students recognized by Association for Faculty Women

WSU cougar logo.

Six Washington State University graduate students have been awarded Outstanding Graduate Student Awards from the WSU Association for Faculty Women.

The annual Karen P. DePauw Leadership Award (doctoral student), Harriette B. Rigas Award (doctoral student), and the AFW Founders Award (master’s student) recognize the academic achievements and professional potential of WSU graduate students.

The Association for Faculty Women solicits nominations from faculty members who work directly with a student to ensure that the highest quality students are considered each year for the awards, which come with a $1000 prize.

Nominations and awardees represent a wide range of disciplines and colleges. Students from any of the WSU system locations are eligible for nomination.

“These students represent the highest level of scholarly achievement, leadership, and promise for future contributions to society,” said D.L. Potts, professor and chair of the Department of English and Association for Faculty Women member.

This year’s winners are:

The Karen P. DePauw Leadership Award

  • Ayumi Manawada, doctoral student, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Chloe Erikson, doctoral student, Veterinary Medicine

AFW Founders Award

  • Olabisi Adesanya, graduate student, Apparel, Merchandising, Design & Textiles
  • Jordan Raymond, graduate student, Mechanical Engineering

Harriette B. Rigas Award

  • Molly Carney, doctoral student, Anthropology
  • Chelsea Pardini, doctoral student, Economic Sciences

Next Story

Recent News