Three WSU faculty named AAAS 2018 Fellows

Individual closeups of Meier, Johnson and Prestwich.
Meier, Johnson, Prestwich, l-r.

Three Washington State University faculty have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

  • Kathryn Meier

    Professor of pharmaceutical sciences and College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences associate dean for faculty and student development

    Elected for “distinguished contributions to the field of signal transduction, in particular on G protein-coupled receptors, protein phosphorylation, and phospholipid metabolism.”

  • Monica Kirkpatrick Johnson

    Professor of sociology and department chair

    Elected for “distinguished contributions to research on life course development focusing on how adolescents transitioning into adulthood is impacted by different social relationships and economic resources.”

  • Glenn Prestwich

    President’s distinguished professor at WSU Health Sciences Spokane

    Elected for “for entrepreneurial uses of chemistry to solve biological problems, including insect pest control, lipids in cell signaling, and hyaluronan materials for regenerative medicine and inflammation.” He is an emeritus professor of medicinal chemistry with University of Utah, where much of the work cited in his election to AAAS Fellow occurred, and joined the WSU Spokane faculty in 2017 after serving as a visiting professor in 2015.

The new WSU fellows are among 416 members who will be awarded for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications on Feb. 16 during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. They will be formally announced Thursday in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science.

Next Story

Recent News

WSU crop sciences graduate receives fellowship a second time

After receiving the D.W. Steiger Family Graduate Fellowship in 2023, WSU PhD student Olufunke Ayegbidun was especially grateful to receive it another time in 2024.