WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

March 4 deadline for nominations to faculty status panel

PULLMAN, Wash. – Nominations to serve on the Faculty Status Committee (FSC) will be accepted by committee members Craig Parks and Katrina Mealey through Tuesday, March 4.

The FSC is an independent, investigative committee elected by Washington State University faculty to hear appeals of non-reappointment, denial of tenure or deferral of promotion. It may also hear and investigate other appeals as outlined in the faculty manual.

To submit a name for election, email or The new term will start May 16. Committee members serve staggered three-year terms and are not eligible to serve two consecutive terms.

Five appeals in 2013

FSC investigations are confidential; results are released only to the appellant and the president of the university. The FSC has 90 days to conclude an investigation after a formal appeal has been filed.

The committee received four appeals of denial of tenure and promotion (T&P) and one appeal of deferral of promotion in spring 2013. Appeals were received from three colleges and WSU Libraries on three campuses. Investigations were completed by mid-May.

The committee has received no appeals concerning non-reappointment of tenure-track junior faculty (third-year review) from spring 2013.

Four decisions upheld

The faculty manual states that appeals must be evaluated on the basis of substantial procedural irregularity, inadequate consideration and/or violation of academic freedom.

Based on these criteria, the FSC recommended that the decision to deny T&P be upheld for three cases, and no decision was recommended for two cases. After reviewing the reports and recommendations, the president set aside one decision and upheld three T&P denials and the deferred promotion.

Committee members and the year their term ends are: Kristen Johnson, co-chair (2014); Stergios Fotopoulis, co-chair (2015); Cheryl Gunselman (2014); Bala Krishnamoorthy (2014); Craig Parks (2015); Robert Quinlan (2015); Laura Hill (2016); Katrina Mealey (2016); and Julie Ann Wieck (2016).

Next Story

Recent News

WSU Core-to-Career program announces members of third cohort

Twenty-one Washington State University faculty have been named as the newest members of the Core-to-Career professional development program that impacts undergradutes’ career readiness.

Sharing American political and judicial expertise overseas

Recipient of a Fulbright Senior Specialist award for a three-week visit to Slovakia, WSU’s Cornell Clayton held a series of lectures for graduate and undergraduate students focusing on contemporary American politics.

College of Education appoints Eric Johnson as associate dean

Eric Johnson, an English language learners professor, will begin his two-year term on Aug. 16 and will focus heavily on faculty and staff professional development aimed at fostering an inclusive and equitable educational environment within the college.

WSU lab joins network identifying new pathogens

As part of the $1.7 billion Pathogen Genomics Center of Excellence, the Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory will play a key role preventing the spread of disease-causing pathogens, including new COVID-19 variants.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates