WSU Cougar Head Logo Washington State University
WSU Insider
News and Information for Faculty, Staff, and the WSU Community

Poets, poetry fans will welcome new Open Mic hosts

RICHLAND – WSU Tri-Cities invites poets of all ages and experience levels to share their creativity at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 1, at Open Mic Poetry Reading Night.
The free, public event will be in the East Building Auditorium.
Open Mic participation is open to all styles — hip-hop, cowboy, rhyming, free verse and even chanting poets. People who register via a sign-up sheet that is passed around at the start of the event are invited to the microphone to read an original poem that is no longer than 1-1/2 pages. As time allows, there will be a second or third round of poetry.
People who support poetry are invited to listen with no pressure to share or speak.
This Open Mic will initiate new co-hosts Laura Walker Jacobs and Irene Hayes, as longtime host Leonard Orr is leaving WSU Tri-Cities in March to take a position as assistant vice chancellor at WSU Vancouver. Orr, the academic director of the College of Liberal Arts, an English professor and a published poet, will attend the event.
Jacobs and Hayes will hold another Open Mic on April 5.
For more information, visit

Next Story

Recent News

Murdock grant funds digital infrastructure

A research team has received an MJ Murdock Charitable Trust grant to develop a market-ready wireless receiver for data communications systems.

Hentges to chair WSU’s neuroscience program

Shane Hentges has been a professor for the past 14 years at Colorado State University. She takes over for Steve Simasko, who has chaired the program since 2008.

Find More News

Subscribe for more updates