As part of Women’s History Month, Washington State University Vancouver will honor women who have inspired, mentored and empowered others at its annual Women of Distinction event. The celebration and reception will begin at 6 p.m. March 28 in Firstenburg Student Commons. The event is free and open to all registered guests. Parking passes will be given to registered guests. RSVP online at the WSU Vancouver Events website.

The speaker will be Lisa Keohokalole Schauer, president of PointNorth Consulting and a member of the WSU Board of Regents, the university’s governing body. Previously, she chaired the WSU Vancouver Advisory Council. She also is an adjunct professor teaching communication strategies at Clark College and Portland State University. Schauer is passionate about inspiring leaders and empowering teams to achieve their business goals.

All 39 Women of Distinction nominees will be recognized for inspiring, mentoring and empowering others. Three Distinguished Woman awards will be given in the following categories: WSU Vancouver student, WSU Vancouver faculty or staff, and community member. Award recipients are selected by a committee of community and WSU Vancouver representatives.

The 2019 honorees are:

WSU Vancouver students

  • Lily Avila
  • Akari Baba
  • Abbie Bambilla
  • Ana Betancourt
  • Mikaela Bolds
  • Natalie Ewing
  • Johanna Inoke
  • Nadia Martinez
  • Sarah Martinez
  • Bonnie Reddig
  • Maegan Sexton
  • Bailley Simms
  • Naffie Sise
  • Holly Ta
  • Kassidy Young

WSU Vancouver faculty and staff

  • Renny Christopher
  • Michelle Eccles
  • Jessica Fales
  • Dene Grigar
  • Dena Madrid
  • Kim McDougall
  • Jeanette Morales
  • Adenike Otoikhian
  • Patti Paris
  • Sue Peabody
  • Teresa Picchioni
  • Shameem Rakha
  • Allison Ramsing
  • Gretchen Rollwagen‑Bollens

Community members

  • Rachael Babilon
  • Kirsten Benko
  • Michelle Devlaeminck
  • Tanisha Harris
  • Jennifer Hawks‑Conright
  • Michelle Massar
  • Tracy Sanderson
  • Ruby Sowder
  • Pam Younkin
  • Lacey Yu