By Bev Makhani, Office of Undergraduate Education

Applications and nominations for the 2018‑19 Richard G. Law Excellence Award for Undergraduate Teaching will be accepted through Fri., March 22.

The new recipient will be recognized at the WSU Undergraduate Education awards ceremony on April 24.

Presented since 2013, the Richard G. Law Excellence Award recognizes outstanding teaching on all campuses by faculty who teach courses in the University Common Requirements (UCORE) curriculum. Seven faculty members have so far received the award, including Clif Stratton, assistant professor of history and current chair of the UCORE committee.

“The Law Award is unique in its concept and very meaningful to those who receive it,” said Stratton. “Members of the review committee look forward to many excellent applications this year from great educators across the university.”

Those eligible for the Richard G. Law Excellence Award include all instructors of record — that is, instructors and clinical faculty as well as tenure‑track faculty — on all campuses, whose teaching has included at least one UCORE class annually for at least the past three years.

More information about the award and the application/nomination process is available on the Law Award webpage.

The award is named in honor of retired WSU administrator and faculty member Richard Law, who served as the director of general education from 1990 until his retirement in 2009. The award in his name values the important role played by faculty across the university teaching UCORE courses to help undergraduates attain WSU Learning Goals and Outcomes, especially outside their major area of study.

Recipients of the award are described as educators who inspire curiosity into, and understanding of, an area of study. Through their teaching, they encourage development of the lifelong learning skills of integrating and synthesizing concepts to solve real problems.

Questions about the award or application/nomination process should be emailed to Stratton,, or Jeannie Holt,

Application or nomination materials are due by email to by 5 p.m. Friday, March 22.