Jenica-HaglerPULLMAN, Wash. – The College of Agricultural, Human and Natural Resource Sciences recently presented college annual awards. They are:

Student awards

Aggie of the year: Jenica Hagler, a senior studying agricultural and food business economics.

Family and consumer scientist: Hayley Hohman, economic sciences with the quantitative economics option.

Outstanding junior in agricultural sciences: Kyle Strachila, agricultural and food systems, agricultural and food business economics.

Undergraduates spell out “We are CAHNRS” at the conclusion of the recognition event.

Outstanding junior in human sciences: Mackenzie Selleg, human development.

Emerging undergraduate leader in agriculture: Serena Ranney, food science.

Emerging undergraduate leader in human sciences: Shelby Ruiz, interior design.

Superior club: Dairy Club.

Outstanding seniors: Stephanie George, Agricultural and Food Systems (AFS), Agricultural and Food Business Economics; Mia Thomsen, AFS, Agricultural Education; Brett Larmer, AFS, Agricultural Technology and Production Management; Clint Keane, Animal Sciences, Animal Management Option; Sophia Collins, Apparel, Merchandising, Design and Textiles, Design Option; Ember Steen, AMDT, Merchandising Option; Madison Moore, Economic Sciences, Agricultural Economics Option; Justin Shiver, Economic Sciences, Business Economics Option; Corbin Poppe, Economic Sciences,
Economics, Policy and Law Option; Riley Seeger, Economic Sciences, Environmental and Resource Economics Option; David Park, Economic Sciences, Financial Markets Option; Jordan Sperl, Economic Sciences, International Economics and Development Option; Crystal Swanson, Economic Sciences, Quantiative Economics Option; Jake Blaylock, Food Science; Hailey Wright, Human Development; Hanadie Morrison, Human Development, Global Campus; Griffin Berger, Integrated Plant Sciences (IPS), Fruit and Vegetable Management; Megan Davis, IPS, Landscape, Nursery, Greenhouse Management; Sean Lanphere, IPS, Turfgrass Management; Molly Warren, IPS, Viticulture and Enology; Daniel Hottell, IPS, Viticulture and Enology, Tri-Cities; Julie Harris, Interior Design; Jeremy Auer, Landscape Architecture; Logan Eres, Western Agricultural Economics Association; Adrian Rus, Wildlife Ecology.

General awards

Chuck Eggert

Dean’s wall of honor: Chuck Eggert, a WSU alumnus, founder of Pacific Natural Foods and a driving force behind the 30-acre Eggert Family Organic Farm on the WSU Pullman campus.

Dean’s women’s leadership award: Barbara J. Stevenson, a WSU alumna and leader in the beef cattle industry.

Volunteer of the year: Phil Hinrichs, a third generation graduate of CAHNRS, owner and operator of Hinrichs Trading Co. – a Pullman chickpea processing company – and a passionate advocate for pulse crop research.

Alumni and development faculty of the year: Kevin Murphy, alumnus and Robert A. Nilan endowed chair in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, who leads the barley and alternative crop breeding program at WSU.

Some of the Hinrichs family with a CAHNRS student.

Alumni and development staff of the year: Angela Lenssen, who spent more than four years managing marketing and communications for the bi-state School of Food Science, a collaborative program shared between the University of Idaho and WSU.

In memoriam: Don Steiger, a 1956 graduate of WSU, retired Army colonel, real estate developer, family farm manager, volunteer and donor who passed away on Dec. 4, 2015.