SPOKANE, Wash. – The Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine has hired three new administrators to the Washington State University Spokane campus.

Two followed Founding Dean John Tomkowiak from their previous employer, Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. Tomkowiak came to WSU in October. The third new hire came from Washington, D.C.

Yvette Roubideaux is the new associate dean for diversity, inclusion and leadership. She recently served in the Obama Administration as director of the Indian Health Service and senior advisor to the Secretary for American Indians and Alaska Natives in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

She will lead the college’s efforts regarding diversity and inclusion and collaborate on the development of leadership education.

James Zimmerman is vice dean of administration, accreditation and finance. At the Chicago Medical School, he was senior associate dean for Administration, Accreditation and Finance and vice president of the Rosalind Franklin University Health System. He has worked in the nonprofit sector as executive director of HealthReach Incorporated, a free clinic and pharmacy serving the medically disadvantaged populations of Lake County, Ill., and as founding chair of the Illinois Association for Free and Charitable Clinics.

In his earlier career, he held executive and management positions in specialty consulting companies providing engineering and software technology solutions to industry and government.

Mary Ann Clemens is special advisor to the dean for curriculum development. At Chicago Medical School, she led the design and development of a new curriculum. She was also a clinical associate professor with teaching and advising duties.

At WSU, she will work directly with the college’s curriculum dean. Based in Chicago, she will work on the Spokane campus one week per month.

The new hires join the rest of the College of Medicine administrative team:
• Ken Roberts, vice dean for academic and community partnerships
• George Novan, associate dean for student affairs and clinical education
• Chris Coppin, associate dean for curriculum and faculty development
• James Krueger, associate dean for research
• Gail Chermak, chair of the Department of Speech and Hearing Sciences


Doug Nadvornick, WSU College of Medicine, 509-358-7540,